TIRE REVIEWS Tire Reviews by Product

Tire Size: 255/50-20
Tire Image
Hankook Optimo H426

255/50-20 (Reading the Tire Size)

Average Customer Rating

For All Vehicles (15)
7.8  
Filter

Filtering Options

(For Best Results, Sort One Option at a Time.)
(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that sort.)
Sort

Sort Reviews

Page

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles

(15 Total Reviews)
Rating
8.8  
Review Date
May 21, 2014
Vehicle
2011 FORD EXPLORER LIMITED
Location
KATY, TX
Driving Conditions
Mostly Dry
Driving Style
Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for
6 months
Miles Driven on Tires
5000
Ride Comfort
10.0  
Cornering/Steering
10.0  
Ride Noise
9.0  
Tread Life
8.0  
Dry Traction
7.0  
Wet Traction
9.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

good tires

129 of 220 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
7.2  
Review Date
November 23, 2013
Vehicle
2011 FORD EXPLORER LIMITED
Location
DALLAS, TX
Driving Conditions
Mostly Dry
Driving Style
Mostly City
Owned Tires for
2 years 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires
30000
Ride Comfort
8.0  
Cornering/Steering
8.0  
Ride Noise
7.0  
Tread Life
8.0  
Dry Traction
9.0  
Wet Traction
3.0  
Winter Traction
3.0  
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

They do perform well in dry weather, although, most tires do.

Tire Cons

The wet weather performance is poor at best. Will frequently hydroplane or tire spin.

These tires came on the Explorer when we purchased it. They are a good looking tire and in our area of the country, perform reasonably well since we have dry conditions most of the time. However, we have found they do perform poorly in wet conditions, having hydroplaned and had tires spin loose on wet roads. The tire spin is not just at startup either. We also had one tire split upon hitting a curb as well. Not sure whether this was an issue with tire quality or not. We will not buy these tires again and are likely to trade them off prior to the end of their useful life.

250 of 429 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
9.2  
Review Date
March 20, 2015
Vehicle
2013 FORD EXPLORER LIMITED
Location
Cerrillos, NM
Driving Conditions
Mostly Dry
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
1000
Ride Comfort
9.0  
Cornering/Steering
9.0  
Ride Noise N/A
Tread Life
9.0  
Dry Traction
9.0  
Wet Traction
10.0  
Winter Traction
10.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

We like them

21 of 38 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
7.8  
Review Date
July 27, 2014
Vehicle
2011 FORD EXPLORER XLT
Location
Spring, TX
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mostly City
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
1500
Ride Comfort
8.0  
Cornering/Steering
8.0  
Ride Noise
7.0  
Tread Life
8.0  
Dry Traction
8.0  
Wet Traction
8.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

Very happy w/ tires so far. Had them for a little over 4 months now & no complaints at this time.

102 of 185 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
9.7  
Review Date
March 01, 2015
Vehicle
2014 FORD EXPLORER LIMITED
Location
Humble, TX
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for
5 months
Miles Driven on Tires
7000
Ride Comfort
10.0  
Cornering/Steering
8.0  
Ride Noise
10.0  
Tread Life
10.0  
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
10.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Quiet ride!

Tire Cons

Quieter tires are softer and more prone to attract debris such as nails, but worth the risk!

I probably would not have bought these tires if they had not come on my Explorer originally, but now will buy them every time. I've had almost every brand through the years, and have been extremely pleased with both sets I've had.

20 of 37 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
8.0  
Review Date
August 30, 2013
Vehicle
2011 FORD EXPLORER BASE
Location
AUSTIN, TX
Driving Conditions
Mostly Dry
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
2 years 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires
75000
Ride Comfort
8.0  
Cornering/Steering
8.0  
Ride Noise
9.0  
Tread Life
10.0  
Dry Traction
7.0  
Wet Traction
6.0  
Winter Traction
6.0  
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

Lasted 75,000 miles

Tire Cons

Traction

I got these when I bought by 2011 Ford Explorer. They were great the first 40,000 miles then then next 35,000 I couldn't believe they had not fallen apart. I have had other tires not even make it to 40,000 miles.

185 of 348 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
3.3  
Review Date
February 09, 2014
Vehicle
2012 FORD EXPLORER LIMITED
Location
ELGIN, IL
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
2 years 3 months
Miles Driven on Tires
37000
Ride Comfort
1.0  
Cornering/Steering
1.0  
Ride Noise
2.0  
Tread Life
8.0  
Dry Traction
7.0  
Wet Traction
1.0  
Winter Traction
1.0  
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

unfortunately it is long lasting

Tire Cons

Traction, ride, flat spotting

It is hard to turn a corner in the snow, even with 4wd, very unstable even in a straight line in snowy conditions. Wet weather traction is not good. Flat spot overnight in attached garage, vibration at about 40 to 45 mph most of the time. These tires are terrible, I have complained to Ford but they still use them on the 2014. I love the vehicle, the Hankooks stink. My friend has a new FWD Sante Fe with Hankooks and he has the same problems.

162 of 318 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
9.5  
Review Date
September 03, 2014
Vehicle
2008 CADILLAC SRX V8 4WD
Location
Jacksonville, TX
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
6000
Ride Comfort
10.0  
Cornering/Steering
8.0  
Ride Noise
10.0  
Tread Life
10.0  
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
9.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Look good, handle great, very quiet.

Tire Cons

Harder to balance perfectly after a minor repair.

Excellent tires for my SRX AWD. Would buy again in a heartbeat.

53 of 108 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
4.3  
Review Date
January 25, 2015
Vehicle
2012 FORD EXPLORER LIMITED
Location
Tacoma, WA
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
3 years
Miles Driven on Tires
25200
Ride Comfort
5.0  
Cornering/Steering
5.0  
Ride Noise
4.0  
Tread Life
6.0  
Dry Traction
5.0  
Wet Traction
1.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

Original Equipment - therefore, no cost.

Tire Cons

Scary hydroplaning when wet.

Worst wet weather traction I've had on any vehicle in more than 10 years. These tires came as original equipment on my Explorer, and first road trip had a very scary hydroplaning incident on the freeway. Terrible wet weather traction, and the rest is just average.

22 of 46 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
9.5  
Review Date
February 28, 2015
Vehicle
2013 FORD EXPLORER LIMITED
Location
Oconomowoc, WI
Driving Conditions
Snow
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
8000
Ride Comfort
10.0  
Cornering/Steering
9.0  
Ride Noise
9.0  
Tread Life
10.0  
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
9.0  
Winter Traction
9.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Same tires that came with vehicle when new. First set lasted 54000 miles and probably could have gone 8000 more.

Tire Cons

None

Very good tires.

8 of 18 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Nevermind

Thank you for taking the time to notify us of an inappropriate review.

Our trusted experts will evaluate this review and take the proper actions.