TIRE REVIEWS Tire Reviews by Product

Tire Size: 255/45-18
Tire Image
Nitto NT 555 Extreme Performance

255/45-18 (Reading the Tire Size)

$154.00

Add to Cart

Average Customer Rating

For All Vehicles (13)
8.6  
Filter

Filtering Options

(For Best Results, Sort One Option at a Time.)
(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that sort.)
Sort

Sort Reviews

Page

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles

(13 Total Reviews)
Rating
8.2  
Review Date
December 12, 2014
Vehicle
2007 FORD MUSTANG GT 18-INCH
Location
Prosper, TX
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
500
Ride Comfort
8.0  
Cornering/Steering
9.0  
Ride Noise
6.0  
Tread Life
8.0  
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
8.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

will purchase again

11 of 18 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
9.3  
Review Date
March 02, 2012
Vehicle
2005 FORD MUSTANG GT 17-INCH
Location
DAPHNE, AL
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
1 month
Miles Driven on Tires
300
Ride Comfort
9.0  
Cornering/Steering
10.0  
Ride Noise
8.0  
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
9.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

Recently switched to 18" wheels and wanted a tire just a little wider than the stock size. These are perfect for the 18 x 8 1/2 rims with minimal road noise and excellent grip. My salesman Zack was knowledgeable on not only this tire but comparable tires and he simplified the decision for me. Definitely recommend the NT555 and Discount Tire Direct.

236 of 412 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
9.2  
Review Date
May 21, 2014
Vehicle
2008 FORD MUSTANG GT COUPE
Location
INDIAN HEAD, PA
Driving Conditions
Mostly Dry
Driving Style
Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for
6 months
Miles Driven on Tires
1500
Ride Comfort
10.0  
Cornering/Steering
9.0  
Ride Noise
9.0  
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction
9.0  
Wet Traction
9.0  
Winter Traction
9.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

I put my tires on a 2008 Mustang GT. I have only had them a short while. I drove from Pittsburgh to Charlotte during the birthday celebration and put on about 1500 miles total. They are quiet and handle very well. I did drive the car on the Charlotte Motor Speedway and they did really well. I only drove in rain a few miles but they seemed to do well there also. They really seem to have a lot of grip and corner very well.

110 of 208 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
9.6  
Review Date
August 11, 2012
Vehicle
2008 FORD MUSTANG GT-500
Location
CRESCENT CITY, CA
Driving Conditions
Mostly Dry
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
1 year
Miles Driven on Tires
600
Ride Comfort
9.0  
Cornering/Steering
10.0  
Ride Noise
10.0  
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
9.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Traction is twice as good as the Goodyears. Once warmed up they perform excellent

Tire Cons

One tire use a little more wieght then teh others

With Goodyears I would spin them completely in 1st, 2nd and part of 3rd. Know I can get about 3/4 throttle in 1st, and only a little spin in 2nd with full throttle.They really increased my hole shots. Amazaing hole shots and control in the corners, before the Goodyears would just breakaway and you were gone, these you can push them out there and still have control when you break them free. I would have paid twice as much for this performance. Mich look out Nitto is coming

247 of 468 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
9.3  
Review Date
March 17, 2014
Vehicle
2006 FORD MUSTANG GT 18-INCH
Location
ARLINGTON, TX
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
4 years 10 months
Miles Driven on Tires
82433
Ride Comfort
10.0  
Cornering/Steering
10.0  
Ride Noise
8.0  
Tread Life
10.0  
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
8.0  
Winter Traction
8.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Handling is awesome, Great traction and smooth ride. Tread life was outstanding

Tire Cons

None

Just bought my second set of these Nitto NT 555 Extreme Performance tires today for my 06 Mustang GT. The frist set finally wore out after putting 82,433 miles on them. I drive hard but not crazy. Traction was great, handling was great. Over all an excellant tire!

133 of 254 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
3.8  
Review Date
July 30, 2012
Vehicle
2009 FORD MUSTANG GT-500
Location
WATERFORD, MI
Driving Conditions
Mostly Dry
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
3 months
Miles Driven on Tires
2500
Ride Comfort
3.0  
Cornering/Steering
7.0  
Ride Noise
3.0  
Tread Life
1.0  
Dry Traction
5.0  
Wet Traction
4.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

Loud - great for people who like to do burnouots

Tire Cons

Not very durable

The front tires started throwing large chunks of rubber out of the tread after only 3 months of aggressive driving. Same driving habits netted me 2 years out of a set of Goodyear F1 Supercar. Thought the higher treadwear rating meant the tire would last longer... I'm back to the Goodyears now.

234 of 448 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
9.2  
Review Date
September 03, 2014
Vehicle
1970 PONTIAC FIREBIRD TRANS AM
Location
Ogdensburg, NY
Driving Conditions
Mostly Dry
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
3 months
Miles Driven on Tires
500
Ride Comfort
10.0  
Cornering/Steering
10.0  
Ride Noise
10.0  
Tread Life
8.0  
Dry Traction
9.0  
Wet Traction
8.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Great tire for the money

Tire Cons

None

These have been a huge upgrade from the BFG radial T/A's that were on the car, in handling, grip and road nose. I was expecting a large improvement considering radial T/A's aren't a great tire, but these have performed much better then I could have ever imagined. Would purchase again.

41 of 79 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
8.5  
Review Date
June 09, 2013
Vehicle
2007 FORD MUSTANG GT-500
Location
STANWOOD, WA
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
9 months
Miles Driven on Tires
8000
Ride Comfort
9.0  
Cornering/Steering
9.0  
Ride Noise
8.0  
Tread Life
8.0  
Dry Traction
9.0  
Wet Traction
8.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Predictable, priced right, attractive.

Tire Cons

none.

I drive hard in a powerful car in the pacific north west and this tire is perfect. There are likely better very high performance tires and likely better rain tires but these are very good performers in both, very predictable. This is the only tire I will ever buy for a modern day American muscle car in this area. They are also very smooth on the freeway and don't throw the car around in the lane ruts that are bad in my area. This was the very first thing that I noticed as the Goodyear F1's that these replaced tried to throw the car into the other lane if you were in the wrong part of the rut.

239 of 463 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
10.0  
Review Date
May 05, 2014
Vehicle
2006 TOYOTA TACOMA X-RUNNER
Location
HARBOR CITY, CA
Driving Conditions
Mostly Dry
Driving Style
Race
Owned Tires for
6 months
Miles Driven on Tires
10000
Ride Comfort
10.0  
Cornering/Steering
10.0  
Ride Noise
10.0  
Tread Life
10.0  
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
10.0  
Winter Traction
10.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

The look is so aggressive I just love it

Tire Cons

None

Love these they burn out nicely warm up fast and grip great!

99 of 192 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
7.8  
Review Date
March 28, 2012
Vehicle
2007 FORD MUSTANG GT 17-INCH
Location
CUMMING, GA
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
6 months
Miles Driven on Tires
5000
Ride Comfort
8.0  
Cornering/Steering
9.0  
Ride Noise
7.0  
Tread Life
7.0  
Dry Traction
9.0  
Wet Traction
7.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

Grippy Aggressive tread

Tire Cons

Less confident in rain

I bought these for a modified Mustang and have done exactly what I expected of them. They handle very well and are priced right. Most likely will buy again or go with the R version.

195 of 381 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Nevermind

Thank you for taking the time to notify us of an inappropriate review.

Our trusted experts will evaluate this review and take the proper actions.