TIRE REVIEWS Tire Reviews by Product

Tire Size: 255/55-18
Tire Image
Nankang SP-5

255/55-18 (Reading the Tire Size)

Average Customer Rating

For All Vehicles (12)
7.9  
Filter

Filtering Options

(For Best Results, Sort One Option at a Time.)
(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that sort.)
Sort

Sort Reviews

Page

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles

(12 Total Reviews)
Rating
4.3  
Review Date
June 09, 2016
Vehicle
2006 BMW X5 /E53 4.4I
Location
Hammondsport, NY
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
1 year
Miles Driven on Tires
15000
Ride Comfort
5.0  
Cornering/Steering
5.0  
Ride Noise
1.0  
Tread Life
5.0  
Dry Traction
5.0  
Wet Traction
5.0  
Winter Traction
5.0  
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

Good price

Tire Cons

very noisy

I have these tires on my BMW X5. The original tires were just ok. I had ordered a different tire and Discount Tire was out of stock on that tire. They offered these at the same price. I had not checked the reviews on these tires. I noted they were a little noisy from the start, but now with some miles (15000) they are very loud. It sounds like I am running big tread mud tires. They are wearing well, but I will probably replace them soon related to the noise. I would not recommend these tires.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
8.8  
Review Date
May 07, 2015
Vehicle
2009 PORSCHE CAYENNE BASE
Location
Scotch Plains, NJ
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
5000
Ride Comfort
9.0  
Cornering/Steering
9.0  
Ride Noise
8.0  
Tread Life
9.0  
Dry Traction
9.0  
Wet Traction
9.0  
Winter Traction
9.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Price, comfort, tread, performance.

Tire Cons

Road noise a little higher, but nothing to worry about.

It is only less than 5000 miles so far, but nothing to complain about at this point. Performance was surprisingly good in snow, wet weather, corners extremely well when driven hard. Road noise a little higher than the OEM Continental tires but considering these were a fraction of the price it's really hard to complain too much. Will update tread wear as more miles are tacked on. Long term test coming eventually.

32 of 46 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
3.8  
Review Date
July 02, 2016
Vehicle
2007 ACURA MDX ALL
Location
Mayfield, KY
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for
1 year 5 months
Miles Driven on Tires
21000
Ride Comfort
5.0  
Cornering/Steering
5.0  
Ride Noise
2.0  
Tread Life
1.0  
Dry Traction
5.0  
Wet Traction
5.0  
Winter Traction
7.0  
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

2007 Acura MDX. Purchased in Feb 2015, within 2 weeks we had a snow/ice storm and they handled that well so at first I was fine with overlooking how much louder they were... However, I maintain my vehicle meticulously with rotations and was barely able to get 21k miles out of these tires... Replaced with another brand in June 2016.. Very disappointed...

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
4.5  
Review Date
October 02, 2014
Vehicle
2008 ACURA MDX ALL
Location
Little Falls, NJ
Driving Conditions
Mostly Dry
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
10 months
Miles Driven on Tires
15000
Ride Comfort
3.0  
Cornering/Steering
7.0  
Ride Noise
2.0  
Tread Life
1.0  
Dry Traction
8.0  
Wet Traction
6.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

inexpensive

Tire Cons

loud,bad quality in general

about 5000 miles and 1/3 of the tire tread is gone. Very loud cheap material. do not buy this tire. However, I will come back to buy tires from DTD because of their service.

65 of 104 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
9.3  
Review Date
March 25, 2013
Vehicle
2006 VOLVO XC90 2.5T
Location
ATLANTA, GA
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mostly City
Owned Tires for
6 months
Miles Driven on Tires
6000
Ride Comfort
10.0  
Cornering/Steering
10.0  
Ride Noise
10.0  
Tread Life
10.0  
Dry Traction
9.0  
Wet Traction
7.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Nm

Tire Cons

Nm

very good tire for the price that I paid

270 of 456 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
9.0  
Review Date
May 13, 2014
Vehicle
2009 ACURA MDX ALL
Location
NEW WESTMINSTER, BC
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
6 months
Miles Driven on Tires
5000
Ride Comfort
10.0  
Cornering/Steering
9.0  
Ride Noise
9.0  
Tread Life
9.0  
Dry Traction
9.0  
Wet Traction
8.0  
Winter Traction
7.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Good price, good quality.

Tire Cons

A little bit heavy compared to the OE one.

Very good tire for just half the price of major brands. Drive feel no different to the OE ones. Will buy again.

144 of 253 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
9.0  
Review Date
December 09, 2012
Vehicle
2008 MERCEDES BENZ R350 251 CHASIS
Location
CHINO HILLS, CA
Driving Conditions
Mostly Dry
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
1 month
Miles Driven on Tires
500
Ride Comfort
9.0  
Cornering/Steering
9.0  
Ride Noise
9.0  
Tread Life
9.0  
Dry Traction
9.0  
Wet Traction
9.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Quality tires Best value

Tire Cons

Not yet

500 more miles on the Nankang SP-5, I am quite please with the tires. Compare to the factory equipped Michelin Latitude on the Mercedes R350, I don't see much of the difference so far. I am quite disappointed with the Michelin tires because it only last for about 36,000 miles with mostly highway driving, not the manufacture claimed 55,000 miles. I am not an aggressive driver, the Nankang SP-5 tires work for me very well. The tires were made in Taiwan, not Thailand or China. Will write a review again after 5,000 miles on them.

228 of 408 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
9.0  
Review Date
June 11, 2015
Vehicle
2007 SUBARU B9 TRIBECA BASE/LIMTD
Location
Holly Ridge, NC
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
11000
Ride Comfort
9.0  
Cornering/Steering
9.0  
Ride Noise
8.0  
Tread Life
9.0  
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
9.0  
Winter Traction
9.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Excellent price, great performance, very good mileage

Tire Cons

Haven't found any yet

Bought these tires in March for an East to West and back trip. Drove in 800 miles of heavy rain then turned North into 300 miles of driving snow. My '07 Subaru and these tires made the trip an ease. Yes, I would buy these tires again.

21 of 39 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
8.0  
Review Date
December 15, 2013
Vehicle
2008 MERCEDES BENZ R350 251 CHASIS
Location
CHINO HILLS, CA
Driving Conditions
Mostly Dry
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
1 year 1 month
Miles Driven on Tires
15000
Ride Comfort
8.0  
Cornering/Steering
8.0  
Ride Noise
8.0  
Tread Life
8.0  
Dry Traction
8.0  
Wet Traction
8.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Good performance, smooth ride, good thread wear and right price.

Tire Cons

None, so far.

About 15,000 miles on the tire, I am happy with the purchase. The performance is on par with the original Mercedes equipped Michelin tires that were replaced. The thread wear is by far better than the Michelin. With the right price, it is hard not to have additional set in the future.

185 of 359 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
9.7  
Review Date
July 17, 2014
Vehicle
2006 CHRYSLER 300 C
Location
Lancaster, OH
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mostly City
Owned Tires for
6 months
Miles Driven on Tires
5000
Ride Comfort
10.0  
Cornering/Steering
10.0  
Ride Noise
10.0  
Tread Life
10.0  
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
8.0  
Winter Traction
5.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

Best tires ive had on my 300c yet

84 of 164 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Nevermind

Thank you for taking the time to notify us of an inappropriate review.

Our trusted experts will evaluate this review and take the proper actions.