TIRE REVIEWS Tire Reviews by Product

Tire Size: 245/40-18
Tire Image
Continental ExtremeContact DW

245/40-18 (Reading the Tire Size)

Average Customer Rating

For All Vehicles (7)
7.9  
Filter

Filtering Options

(For Best Results, Sort One Option at a Time.)
(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that sort.)
Sort

Sort Reviews

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles

(7 Total Reviews)
Rating
9.8  
Review Date
February 01, 2014
Vehicle
2008 CHEVROLET CORVETTE C6
Location
MIAMI, FL
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
1 year
Miles Driven on Tires
10000
Ride Comfort
10.0  
Cornering/Steering
10.0  
Ride Noise
10.0  
Tread Life
9.0  
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
10.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

great dry traction and tread wear, fantastic in the rain

Tire Cons

none

purchased for a Z51 corvette ,fantastic tire in dry and wet weather definitely recommend

469 of 734 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
7.4  
Review Date
March 24, 2015
Vehicle
2006 AUDI A6 4.2 QUATTRO SEDAN
Location
Carlsbad, CA
Driving Conditions
Mostly Dry
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
7500
Ride Comfort
8.0  
Cornering/Steering
6.0  
Ride Noise
6.0  
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction
8.0  
Wet Traction
9.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

These tires have horrible on center feel compared to others I've had on my car. They increased the steering dead zone by 50%. They are also narrower on the wheels which exposed the wheel lip to curb damage. They make a high pitch ting sound with they hit sharp edges like a balloon instead of a thump. They are squirmy or lack much lateral stiffness, but yet seem to have high ultimate grip and good wet traction. I expected more, but then again they aren't very expensive and have a good warranty.

78 of 134 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
9.0  
Review Date
October 25, 2015
Vehicle
2014 AUDI A4 SEDAN
Location
Fort Worth, TX
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
6000
Ride Comfort
9.0  
Cornering/Steering
9.0  
Ride Noise
8.0  
Tread Life
8.0  
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
10.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

This seems to be a good tire. The traction is great and the ride is smooth.

Tire Cons

The edges of the tires seem to be quite rigid. When turning corners at low speed you can feel and hear the tires get rougher.

Overall, I like these tires. They replaces the stock Pirelli tires that were soft and wore out in less than 40k miles.

27 of 54 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
8.0  
Review Date
February 25, 2016
Vehicle
2008 AUDI TT 2.0 CPE/CONV
Location
Houston, TX
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
5000
Ride Comfort
7.0  
Cornering/Steering
9.0  
Ride Noise
5.0  
Tread Life
9.0  
Dry Traction
9.0  
Wet Traction
9.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

Excellent for the price

7 of 14 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
8.5  
Review Date
September 10, 2015
Vehicle
2008 LEXUS GS350 BASE SEDAN
Location
Denver, NC
Driving Conditions
Mostly Dry
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
1 year 1 month
Miles Driven on Tires
17000
Ride Comfort
9.0  
Cornering/Steering
9.0  
Ride Noise
5.0  
Tread Life
9.0  
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
9.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Not Likely

Tire Pros

Good ride, good handling, better than average wear

Tire Cons

at 17000 miles...feathering, noisy ride

Previous set of Continentals from DT were the best to date on this car. Starting about a month ago and at 15000 miles, the tires started getting very noisy and obvious feathering. Was expecting 30000+ miles on this set; not looking good.

19 of 54 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
3.8  
Review Date
January 14, 2016
Vehicle
2008 LEXUS GS460 BASE SEDAN
Location
Norco, CA
Driving Conditions
Mostly Dry
Driving Style
Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for
8 months
Miles Driven on Tires
10000
Ride Comfort
4.0  
Cornering/Steering
5.0  
Ride Noise
3.0  
Tread Life
1.0  
Dry Traction
5.0  
Wet Traction
5.0  
Winter Traction
5.0  
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

Relatively quiet for the 1st 5k miles

Tire Cons

LOW tread life

Bought tires EIGHT MONTHS AGO. Went to my local America's Tire today and was told that center of the rear tires were worn down at only 10,000 miles!!! I was told there was NO warranty, and basically too bad. I had to get two new tires, so I'm stuck with these but will never buy this brand again. I've owned 5 Lexus vehicles, have always had my cars dealer-serviced, and drive quite normal. This is for my 2008 Lexus GS460. Yes, it's a V-8, and no, I wasn't doing burn-outs, haha. Back to the Pirellis, but not sure if I'll be coming back to America's tire due to complete lack of support.

7 of 24 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
8.8  
Review Date
June 04, 2016
Vehicle
2010 AUDI TTS CPE/CONV
Location
Atlantic Beach, FL
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
4000
Ride Comfort
8.0  
Cornering/Steering
9.0  
Ride Noise
9.0  
Tread Life
8.0  
Dry Traction
9.0  
Wet Traction
10.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

Great wet traction

Tire Cons

None Provided

My 3rd set. Great performance tire for the money. Adequate tread life for a performance tire. Absolutely great in wet weather. Not a track tire, but a great choice for spirited everyday driving at a very reasonable price. Prefer these over the OEM Pirelli's by far, and, though the the Michelin Pilot Cups were great tires, they wore out faster and were far more expensive. Not worth the price difference unless you track the car regularly, in my opinion.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Nevermind

Thank you for taking the time to notify us of an inappropriate review.

Our trusted experts will evaluate this review and take the proper actions.