TIRE REVIEWS Tire Reviews by Product

Tire Size: 235/40-18
Tire Image
Continental ExtremeContact DW

235/40-18 (Reading the Tire Size)

Average Customer Rating

For All Vehicles (6)
7.1  
Filter

Filtering Options

(For Best Results, Sort One Option at a Time.)
(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that sort.)
Sort

Sort Reviews

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles

(6 Total Reviews)
Rating
5.5  
Review Date
September 13, 2014
Vehicle
2012 VOLVO S60 T6
Location
Sycamore, IL
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for
1 year
Miles Driven on Tires
16000
Ride Comfort
4.0  
Cornering/Steering
8.0  
Ride Noise
4.0  
Tread Life
1.0  
Dry Traction
8.0  
Wet Traction
8.0  
Winter Traction
8.0  
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

good grip, good on wet

Tire Cons

float at high speed - scarey - tread life is terrible - never again

I mainly drive highway miles, i found the tread life to be horrible - replacing after 1 year! what a waste...

134 of 187 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
8.0  
Review Date
November 14, 2013
Vehicle
2004 AUDI S4 4.2 QUATTRO ALL
Location
LITTLETON, CO
Driving Conditions
Mostly Dry
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
6 months
Miles Driven on Tires
5000
Ride Comfort
8.0  
Cornering/Steering
9.0  
Ride Noise
8.0  
Tread Life
7.0  
Dry Traction
9.0  
Wet Traction
7.0  
Winter Traction
3.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

A lot of performance at a good price

Tire Cons

They do wear quickly on a heavy car.

We have used these tires for daily driving and for track driving. Our Audi does chew these tires up, but it is a great summer tire and wears much better than lower quality brands.

122 of 210 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
6.2  
Review Date
December 01, 2014
Vehicle
2004 AUDI S4 4.2 QUATTRO ALL
Location
Orland Park, IL
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
6 months
Miles Driven on Tires
3500
Ride Comfort
5.0  
Cornering/Steering
5.0  
Ride Noise
2.0  
Tread Life
5.0  
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
10.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

Nice looking tire and very quiet for about 1500 miles

Tire Cons

Still nice looking tire , but increasing noise is getting to be a big factor and impossible to deal with , especially at 45-55 mph

Good looking,aggressive summer tire at a very good price point, but not quite good for a heavy front end of my 2004 S4,even with less than spirited driving.Very quiet at first , but increasing tire noise after about 1500 miles.I have about 3500 miles now and I can not stand the noise,so I am going to replace them.Discount Tire is very good in understanding consumer concerns and they have worked up a satisfactory deal to keep me as a customer.I am getting Michelin Super Sport hoping for a much better outcome.

44 of 95 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
8.7  
Review Date
April 20, 2015
Vehicle
2006 AUDI A4 1.8T CABRIOLET
Location
Westmont, IL
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
3 years 5 months
Miles Driven on Tires
40000
Ride Comfort
9.0  
Cornering/Steering
9.0  
Ride Noise
7.0  
Tread Life
9.0  
Dry Traction
9.0  
Wet Traction
9.0  
Winter Traction
10.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Longest lasting tires I've had for my Cabriolet FWD. Best tires I've had in the snow.

Tire Cons

A tad noisy I guess.

Great grip in the snow, good stopping. I was very pleased to get 40K out of these tires. My little heavy piggy convertible S-Line eats tire tread. I got 25K or less from Good Year versions of the same all weather tire.

26 of 57 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
7.5  
Review Date
January 01, 2014
Vehicle
2012 FORD FOCUS SEDAN TITANIUM
Location
BATON ROUGE, LA
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
6 months
Miles Driven on Tires
3000
Ride Comfort
7.0  
Cornering/Steering
8.0  
Ride Noise
3.0  
Tread Life
8.0  
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
9.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Not Likely

Tire Pros

Great price great grip dry or wet decent tread life so far

Tire Cons

Noisy unless youre driving on fresh blacktop then it uses its indoor voice

Bought these to replace my Michelin Pilot 2s as price was a factor The Michelins were the BEST tires Ive ever experienced Barring that the Extreme Contacts deliver excellent grip in dry one wet They seem to have more lateral give over the Michelins like riding on jello causing an extra delay in steering response Once youre used to that youll have to get used to the road noise Its not dealbreaker as the price was nice but youll realize it when you stop and wonder what that sound is silence I also have a 2012 Ford Focus Titanium with handling pkg 5 door Not known to be chocked full of noise reduction features to take that for whatever its worth

107 of 242 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
6.8  
Review Date
July 20, 2016
Vehicle
2008 VW GTI V 2/4-DOOR
Location
Waddell, AZ
Driving Conditions
Mostly Dry
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
2 years
Miles Driven on Tires
15000
Ride Comfort
7.0  
Cornering/Steering N/A
Ride Noise
6.0  
Tread Life
7.0  
Dry Traction
7.0  
Wet Traction N/A
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Not Likely

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

noisy at low speeds

Traction could be better, its very easy to break traction in my modified GTI. Road noise is the biggest issue for me. The negative camber on my car wears these unevenly so for me they seem to wear kind of quickly, but I don't blame the tire for my suspension setup.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Nevermind

Thank you for taking the time to notify us of an inappropriate review.

Our trusted experts will evaluate this review and take the proper actions.