TIRE REVIEWS Tire Reviews by Product

Tire Size: 285/70-17
Tire Image
Cooper Discoverer ST Maxx

285/70-17 (Reading the Tire Size)

Average Customer Rating

For All Vehicles (13)
7.9  
Filter

Filtering Options

(For Best Results, Sort One Option at a Time.)
(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that sort.)
Sort

Sort Reviews

Page

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles

(13 Total Reviews)
Rating
7.2  
Review Date
March 17, 2013
Vehicle
2004 GMC SIERRA 1500 Z71 4WD
Location
WARREN, ME
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
6 months
Miles Driven on Tires
12000
Ride Comfort
7.0  
Cornering/Steering
7.0  
Ride Noise
6.0  
Tread Life
8.0  
Dry Traction
7.0  
Wet Traction
8.0  
Winter Traction
9.0  
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

great wear for the tread

Tire Cons

stiff feel

a good tire if you want a cross between all terrain and mud terrain

111 of 184 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
8.2  
Review Date
April 11, 2015
Vehicle
2004 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500 Z71 4WD
Location
Huson, MT
Driving Conditions
Snow
Driving Style
Off Road
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
5000
Ride Comfort
8.0  
Cornering/Steering
8.0  
Ride Noise
7.0  
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction
8.0  
Wet Traction
10.0  
Winter Traction
10.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

all around best tire I have owned.

Tire Cons

Really no cons for these tires.

I used to run BFG ATs on my daily driver but switched to the STMAXX because I wanted to try something new and they were slightly more agressive. I live in western montana and 25 miles of dirt road between me and any pavement. I was more than pleased with these tires. Only 5000 miles on them but I won't go back. They have out performed the BFG in every area. Even towed a small car and trailer to Portland in some very poor weather, and was very confident the whole time. I am an outdoors man and spend a majority of my time driving on poor roads in remote areas and have to have confidence in my tires. Really enjoying these tires!

43 of 72 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
6.2  
Review Date
October 21, 2014
Vehicle
2013 FORD F-250 XLT
Location
New Braunfels, TX
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
20000
Ride Comfort
6.0  
Cornering/Steering
8.0  
Ride Noise
2.0  
Tread Life
7.0  
Dry Traction
7.0  
Wet Traction
7.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

So far so good...I drive on highways and oilfield rds. They seem to be a very tough tire. No issues.

55 of 94 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
10.0  
Review Date
July 16, 2014
Vehicle
2006 DODGE RAM 2500 SLT 4WD
Location
Clatskanie, OR
Driving Conditions
Mostly Dry
Driving Style
Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for
6 months
Miles Driven on Tires
10000
Ride Comfort
10.0  
Cornering/Steering
10.0  
Ride Noise
10.0  
Tread Life
10.0  
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
10.0  
Winter Traction
10.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

best tires available in my opinion

49 of 84 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
10.0  
Review Date
October 06, 2015
Vehicle
2005 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 2500 2WD
Location
Victorville, CA
Driving Conditions
Mostly Dry
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
3000
Ride Comfort
10.0  
Cornering/Steering
10.0  
Ride Noise
10.0  
Tread Life
10.0  
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
10.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

great tire

15 of 28 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
4.7  
Review Date
August 29, 2015
Vehicle
2010 DODGE RAM 2500 LARAMIE
Location
Fort Collins, CO
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
2 years 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
20000
Ride Comfort
2.0  
Cornering/Steering
4.0  
Ride Noise
3.0  
Tread Life
2.0  
Dry Traction
9.0  
Wet Traction
8.0  
Winter Traction
9.0  
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

Great off road traction

Tire Cons

Uneven wear. Noisy and effected handling and alignment

Tires did great off road but on pavement they where less than acceptable. Pulled to the right badly and effected the alignment.

21 of 40 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
6.3  
Review Date
January 17, 2015
Vehicle
2012 FORD F-250 XLT
Location
St. John's, NL
Driving Conditions
Snow
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
6000
Ride Comfort
7.0  
Cornering/Steering
4.0  
Ride Noise
3.0  
Tread Life
8.0  
Dry Traction
9.0  
Wet Traction
7.0  
Winter Traction
3.0  
Buy Tire Again Not Likely

Tire Pros

Nice look on the vehicle

Tire Cons

Poor traction in snow conditions

Tires are ok. I had much higher hopes for the tread to give me soft snow traction but they don't seem to clear themselves quick enough and pack full and float causing very quick traction loss even in 0.5 inches of fresh snowfall.

37 of 73 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
9.3  
Review Date
June 15, 2015
Vehicle
2012 DODGE RAM 2500 BIGHORN
Location
San Rafael, NM
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
3500
Ride Comfort
9.0  
Cornering/Steering
9.0  
Ride Noise
8.0  
Tread Life
10.0  
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
10.0  
Winter Traction
10.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Great tires...

Tire Cons

None

Have nothing but good reviews for these tires

25 of 51 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
8.5  
Review Date
October 21, 2015
Vehicle
2010 DODGE RAM 2500 LARAMIE
Location
Floresville, TX
Driving Conditions
Mostly Dry
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
4000
Ride Comfort
8.0  
Cornering/Steering
7.0  
Ride Noise
10.0  
Tread Life
8.0  
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
8.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

They have good traction and no noise

Tire Cons

Tired like to walk around on corners so you have to really slow down, you can also feel them bounce and walk in straights also

I don't have one

12 of 26 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
10.0  
Review Date
December 11, 2015
Vehicle
2015 TOYOTA 4 RUNNER SR5
Location
San Antonio, TX
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
2500
Ride Comfort
10.0  
Cornering/Steering
10.0  
Ride Noise
10.0  
Tread Life
10.0  
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
10.0  
Winter Traction
10.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Excellent tire

Tire Cons

Nothing nothing nothing

Excellent tire

3 of 10 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Nevermind

Thank you for taking the time to notify us of an inappropriate review.

Our trusted experts will evaluate this review and take the proper actions.