TIRE REVIEWS Tire Reviews by Product

Tire Size: 275/40-17
Tire Image
Nitto NT 555 Extreme Performance

275/40-17 (Reading the Tire Size)

Average Customer Rating

For All Vehicles (23)
9.0  
Filter

Filtering Options

(For Best Results, Sort One Option at a Time.)
(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that sort.)
Sort

Sort Reviews

Page

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles

(23 Total Reviews)
Rating
10.0  
Review Date
November 05, 2015
Vehicle
1993 CHEVROLET CORVETTE C4
Location
Waterford Township, MI
Driving Conditions
Mostly Dry
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
250
Ride Comfort
10.0  
Cornering/Steering
10.0  
Ride Noise
10.0  
Tread Life
10.0  
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
10.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Excellent tire and smooth ride

Tire Cons

None

Would recommend this tire to anyone and value in price.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
9.7  
Review Date
August 18, 2015
Vehicle
1991 CHEVROLET CORVETTE C4
Location
Staten Island, NY
Driving Conditions
Mostly Dry
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
3000
Ride Comfort
9.0  
Cornering/Steering
10.0  
Ride Noise
10.0  
Tread Life
10.0  
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
9.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

I drive 1991 corvette mostly a weekend car. Tires are great glued to road on turns and still look brand new at 3000 miles.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
5.5  
Review Date
July 01, 2015
Vehicle
2002 CHEVROLET CAMARO SS
Location
Pearland, TX
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for
1 year 8 months
Miles Driven on Tires
20000
Ride Comfort
8.0  
Cornering/Steering
8.0  
Ride Noise
8.0  
Tread Life
7.0  
Dry Traction
1.0  
Wet Traction
1.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

Decent price, looks the part of a performance tire, relatively quiet

Tire Cons

dangerous in the rain, horrible dry traction, low tread life

I daily drive a 2002 Camaro Z28 that makes a little over 500 rear wheel horse power. These tires are downright dangerous in the rain. It is a white knuckle experience everytime it rains and it rains quite frequently here. I judge this by my two previous sets of tires that were Falken brand and they were great in the rain. I didn't expect too much dry weather traction at my power level but these tires are a joke. For a tire that is rated as a performance street tire with reduced tread wear I expected at least some traction on dry concrete. That is not the case with these tires. If you are at low power levels and only drive in dry conditions then I guess these tires will work for you. But if not heed my warning; these tires are dangerous in wet conditions they will hydroplane at the slightest hint of water. I don't drive on bad roads either I spend most of my time on toll roads with good concrete.

35 of 54 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
9.7  
Review Date
September 22, 2015
Vehicle
2002 PONTIAC FIREBIRD TRANS AM
Location
Amarillo, TX
Driving Conditions
Mostly Dry
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
1000
Ride Comfort
9.0  
Cornering/Steering
10.0  
Ride Noise
10.0  
Tread Life
10.0  
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
9.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

So far so good

Tire Cons

Nothing bad to say

This is a good tire so far will know more this winter

12 of 19 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
9.6  
Review Date
February 16, 2012
Vehicle
1996 CHEVROLET CORVETTE C4
Location
SAN ANTONIO, TX
Driving Conditions
Mostly Dry
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
6 months
Miles Driven on Tires
4600
Ride Comfort
10.0  
Cornering/Steering
9.0  
Ride Noise
10.0  
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction
9.0  
Wet Traction N/A
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Directional stability, Smoothness and Quietness on the highway. Cornering predictability.

Tire Cons

Straightness of sidewalls could expose rims to curb damage and gives optical illusion that the tires are not as wide as they actually are.

I thought my old Pirelli's were performance tires. They were on my Corvette when I got the car, and still had some tread left when I replaced them. With 275/40x17's all around,I thought that was how a Corvette drove; darty, rut & ridge following and wag-happy in a hard corner. All that dissappeared when the same size Nitto 555's went on! I can actually relax on the highway because the car goes where it's pointed without hunting or oversteering and rides smooth & quiet too. Cornering is much more linear and predictable and recovers nicely if pushed to the limit. Haven't had them in the rain yet, but with such great dry traction, I would expect them to be safe if driven reasonably. With only 4600 mostly highway miles, I can see no wear yet and hope that is a sign of long life. After much reading and research I'm glad I decided on the Nitto's and I would buy these again.

289 of 479 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
9.8  
Review Date
October 15, 2014
Vehicle
2002 PONTIAC FIREBIRD FORMULA
Location
Lubbock, TX
Driving Conditions
Mostly Dry
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
2000
Ride Comfort
9.0  
Cornering/Steering
10.0  
Ride Noise
10.0  
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction N/A
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Quiet ride, sticks hard through corners, aggressive tread pattern looks great

Tire Cons

None so far. I have not driven the car in rain at this point, so I can't say anything about wet performance.

I bought a set of 275/40/17 (factory size) for my 2002 Trans Am. I just got done with a 1,000 mile trip over the last four days, and these performed very well. They plant the car during cornering, and straight-line acceleration presents no problems. Depending on the roadway surface, these tires are incredibly and surprisingly quiet, offering almost no interference in the cabin. Because the Trans Am is my fun car, I don't get it out in bad weather. I can't say what the performance is like in adverse conditions, but if you just want something to work well in dry weather, these are pretty awesome for the money.

149 of 259 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
10.0  
Review Date
October 20, 2012
Vehicle
1997 CHEVROLET CAMARO 245/50R16
Location
WHITEHOUSE, TX
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
2 years
Miles Driven on Tires
5000
Ride Comfort
10.0  
Cornering/Steering
10.0  
Ride Noise
10.0  
Tread Life
10.0  
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
10.0  
Winter Traction
10.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Very quite, good traction, good looking tire.

Tire Cons

None that I've found.

I run this tire in a 315/35/17 and a 275/40/17 on a 1997 Camaro SS. Excellent tires. I've run 5 sets of this configuration of various brands and these are by far the best.

254 of 447 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
8.8  
Review Date
October 22, 2014
Vehicle
Location
Naperville, IL
Driving Conditions
Mostly Dry
Driving Style
Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
1500
Ride Comfort
9.0  
Cornering/Steering
10.0  
Ride Noise
8.0  
Tread Life
8.0  
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
8.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

sticky quiet wear well

Tire Cons

Visible balancing mark on right side (directional tires)

Nice sticky tires that wear well and are quiet. All that I was hoping for!

122 of 224 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
8.8  
Review Date
January 21, 2012
Vehicle
1992 CHEVROLET CORVETTE C4
Location
THREE RIVERS, MI
Driving Conditions
Mostly Dry
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
9 months
Miles Driven on Tires
3000
Ride Comfort
9.0  
Cornering/Steering
8.0  
Ride Noise
8.0  
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction
9.0  
Wet Traction N/A
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

Very happy with these tires for the price.. have them on a 92 corvette and they are performing very well...

238 of 446 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
10.0  
Review Date
January 28, 2014
Vehicle
1992 CHEVROLET CORVETTE C4
Location
LAS VEGAS, NV
Driving Conditions
Mostly Dry
Driving Style
Mostly City
Owned Tires for
5 months
Miles Driven on Tires
1000
Ride Comfort
10.0  
Cornering/Steering
10.0  
Ride Noise
10.0  
Tread Life
10.0  
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
10.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

excellent tire with great performance and tread

Tire Cons

None Provided

outstanding tire with good handling characteristics

193 of 370 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Nevermind

Thank you for taking the time to notify us of an inappropriate review.

Our trusted experts will evaluate this review and take the proper actions.