TIRE REVIEWS Tire Reviews by Product

Tire Size: 255/50-17
Tire Image
Nitto NT 555 Extreme Performance

255/50-17 (Reading the Tire Size)

Average Customer Rating

For All Vehicles (16)
8.7  
Filter

Filtering Options

(For Best Results, Sort One Option at a Time.)
(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that sort.)
Sort

Sort Reviews

Page

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles

(16 Total Reviews)
Rating
9.5  
Review Date
December 24, 2012
Vehicle
2007 FORD CROWN VIC BASE/LX
Location
AUSTIN, TX
Driving Conditions
Mostly Dry
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
1 month
Miles Driven on Tires
500
Ride Comfort
9.0  
Cornering/Steering
10.0  
Ride Noise
9.0  
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction N/A
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Smooth, high grip, fairly quiet, aggressive good looks.

Tire Cons

None yet.

The car is a Ford Crown Vic Police Interceptor, originally equipped with Firestone Firehawk Pursuit tires. Those tires retail for nearly $400 each, so I was looking for a tire that offered at least similar performance at a much better price. These Nittos really are a great tire, even better than the previously mentioned tires at less than half the price. Additionally, I chose a "plus zero" size increase to 255/50x17 (stock is 235/55x17.) The steering is sharper, and the ride is much better. The larger size works very well, and makes the car look very aggressive (it's solid black). I haven't had a chance to drive in heavy rain, but I have driven in damp weather, and the car feels very confident. The car is now much more fun to drive, and it's more predictable too. I highly recommend.

313 of 517 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
9.5  
Review Date
March 17, 2013
Vehicle
1996 CHEVROLET IMPALA SS
Location
VILLA PARK, IL
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mostly City
Owned Tires for
6 months
Miles Driven on Tires
1000
Ride Comfort
10.0  
Cornering/Steering
10.0  
Ride Noise
10.0  
Tread Life
10.0  
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
7.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

Good tires, liked the stock B F Goodrich better.

291 of 494 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
8.2  
Review Date
October 20, 2015
Vehicle
2011 FORD CROWN VIC SEDAN
Location
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mostly City
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
1500
Ride Comfort
6.0  
Cornering/Steering
9.0  
Ride Noise
8.0  
Tread Life
8.0  
Dry Traction
9.0  
Wet Traction
9.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

Great traction be it in the wet or dry .

Tire Cons

You do feel bumps more and a little noisy on the highway .

Love the tires will buy again when needed . You do feel bumps in the road more and they are a little noisy on the highway but turn on the radio and you wont hear the tires . They are performance tires after all . In the dry or wet they inspire confidence in that the car will go where you want it to .

10 of 17 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
10.0  
Review Date
May 30, 2014
Vehicle
1995 CHEVROLET IMPALA SS
Location
TOMBALL, TX
Driving Conditions
Mostly Dry
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
6 months
Miles Driven on Tires
1000
Ride Comfort
10.0  
Cornering/Steering
10.0  
Ride Noise
10.0  
Tread Life
10.0  
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
10.0  
Winter Traction
10.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

tires are good

170 of 290 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
8.7  
Review Date
March 11, 2015
Vehicle
2005 FORD MUSTANG GT 17-INCH
Location
Saint Louis, MO
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
2000
Ride Comfort
9.0  
Cornering/Steering
10.0  
Ride Noise
10.0  
Tread Life
8.0  
Dry Traction
9.0  
Wet Traction
6.0  
Winter Traction
3.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

When it was dry out and I could get the tires warm they performed well. Cornering is pretty amazing.

Tire Cons

Due to where I live the weather has not cooperated at all since I've gotten the tires. In the rain they do pretty good but snow was horrible.

Overall the tires have performed better then I would have expected when you have almost 450 horse. The mustang still gets a little squirrelly but it is pretty controllable with the grip they provide while spinning. That is only when its dry out and the fact that I'm still on stock wheels. Worth every penny!

36 of 64 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
9.0  
Review Date
July 13, 2012
Vehicle
1995 CHEVROLET IMPALA SS
Location
HOUSTON, TX
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mostly City
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
2200
Ride Comfort
10.0  
Cornering/Steering
10.0  
Ride Noise
10.0  
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
5.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

not a high mileage tire

Prefer BFG Comp TA's but they were not available. On this car, these are a good second choice.

271 of 483 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
6.2  
Review Date
October 04, 2014
Vehicle
1996 CHEVROLET IMPALA SS
Location
Saint Petersburg, FL
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
465
Ride Comfort
5.0  
Cornering/Steering
8.0  
Ride Noise
5.0  
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction
8.0  
Wet Traction
5.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

Worst tire I have put on my impalla ss sofar. If available I would donate these to get back to the bridgestones I previously had or even the original goodridge. They flat spot while parked for for a short time and take several miles to smooth out after parked in the garage and never get to the smooth, quiet ride I was used to. I may give these to a friend who has a truck if he will take them.

57 of 105 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
8.3  
Review Date
February 05, 2015
Vehicle
1997 DODGE DAKOTA 5.9 R/T
Location
Lewisville, TX
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
4500
Ride Comfort
9.0  
Cornering/Steering
8.0  
Ride Noise
9.0  
Tread Life
8.0  
Dry Traction
9.0  
Wet Traction
7.0  
Winter Traction
5.0  
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

Only tire maker who makes my size, and it's all about size.

Tire Cons

Wet traction could be better.

This us my second set of Nitto's and got about 60k miles on the first set.

28 of 52 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
9.8  
Review Date
September 16, 2014
Vehicle
Location
Peoria, AZ
Driving Conditions
Mostly Dry
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
1000
Ride Comfort
9.0  
Cornering/Steering
10.0  
Ride Noise
10.0  
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction N/A
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

These tires were wider than existing tires. Great handling-smooth ride. I have not driven enough miles to rate tread wear.

81 of 151 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
8.6  
Review Date
October 31, 2012
Vehicle
2005 FORD MUSTANG GT 17-INCH
Location
MORGANTOWN, WV
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
3000
Ride Comfort
6.0  
Cornering/Steering
9.0  
Ride Noise
9.0  
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
9.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

Great traction all around, wet or dry Nice looking tire Great price!

Tire Cons

None yet but wondering about tread life. A little rougher over bumps

I bought these tires to replace a set of mostly bald all season Sumitomo 225/55R17's, which are far too small of a tire for this car. The traction sucked and they were way too easy to spin on dry pavement, much less wet. These tires are an about face from those Sumitomos. First off, I got 255/50R17's which look great on the car. These tires have great dry traction AND great wet traction which surprised me. I can actually apply some throttle on wet roads without the tires immediately breaking loose. I have no noticed any road noise but then again I also have full exhaust on this car so I probably wouldn't be able to hear tire noise anyway. With the increased width did come some more roughness over bumps. Otherwise I'm very happy with these so far, and Discount Tire Direct has a great price on them too!

237 of 462 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Nevermind

Thank you for taking the time to notify us of an inappropriate review.

Our trusted experts will evaluate this review and take the proper actions.