TIRE REVIEWS Tire Reviews by Product

Tire Size: 225/45-17
Tire Image
General G-MAX AS-03

225/45-17 (Reading the Tire Size)

Average Customer Rating

For All Vehicles (8)
8.4  
Filter

Filtering Options

(For Best Results, Sort One Option at a Time.)
(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that sort.)
Sort

Sort Reviews

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles

(8 Total Reviews)
Rating
6.8  
Review Date
August 02, 2014
Vehicle
2003 PONTIAC VIBE GT HATCHBACK
Location
Lake Orion, MI
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
2 years 10 months
Miles Driven on Tires
25000
Ride Comfort
8.0  
Cornering/Steering
8.0  
Ride Noise
1.0  
Tread Life
7.0  
Dry Traction
9.0  
Wet Traction
8.0  
Winter Traction
1.0  
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

Good wet and dry traction

Tire Cons

SOOOO LOUD!

Ignore the zip, im in Waterloo, Ontario, Canada Bought from dtd online because of discounts and rebates. Had them on my 03 vibe gt for 1.5 seasons of driving (I have dedicated winter rims/tires). At 80-100kph it would hum like crazy in the cabin. Wind noise would cover the hum at highway speeds. I now have the same rims and tires on my 06 jetta tdi wagon and I notice the hum from 60kph all the way to 120kph....its driving me crazy. I bought these because I had the general performance all-seasons on previous wheels and loved the grip, comfort, and quiet. The g-max have great grip, bit the noise overshadows every other positive aspect of the tire

257 of 451 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
9.2  
Review Date
January 17, 2015
Vehicle
2003 VW JETTA IV GLI/GLS
Location
New Paltz, NY
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
500
Ride Comfort
9.0  
Cornering/Steering
10.0  
Ride Noise
7.0  
Tread Life
10.0  
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
9.0  
Winter Traction
8.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Tires are amazing handles like a pro. Tires have great tread life and have superior handling in dry/wet conditions.

Tire Cons

if you are an experienced driver and can adapt well these tires will do really good in these conditions.(ice/snow)

These tires are worth every dollar and have already saved me multiple times. I have bought from the company general twice already and never regreted it. Best tires out there

43 of 78 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
8.4  
Review Date
January 18, 2015
Vehicle
2007 VW JETTA V 2.0T/GLI
Location
Milton, WI
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
5000
Ride Comfort
8.0  
Cornering/Steering
8.0  
Ride Noise
8.0  
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction
9.0  
Wet Traction
9.0  
Winter Traction
7.0  
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

Great price. Good traction.

Tire Cons

Seem like very soft so we will see how well they wear.

Good tires so far in wet and dry. Snow traction is good but i haven't done enough snow driving to have an opinion. I would buy again but need to see how they wear.

38 of 70 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
9.3  
Review Date
January 12, 2012
Vehicle
2009 VW JETTA V TDI SEDAN
Location
PENNINGTON, NJ
Driving Conditions
Mostly Dry
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
4000
Ride Comfort
8.0  
Cornering/Steering
10.0  
Ride Noise
8.0  
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
10.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Superior performance tire, cornering is a pleasure and the tires feel like gum on the road. An excellent tire for performance cars.

Tire Cons

Noisier than expected.

Awesome!! I was thrilled to discover that General is owned by Continental. I chose these over the Continental Pro conti DWS. The car handles beautifully; cornering is sheer pleasure, the tires grip the road, braking is crisp and ride comfort is good. Compared to the Continental Pro conti DWS, the General's are stiffer and corner better. The tires are esthetically pleasing and look fine on my 08 CLK 350, I do find them a tad noisy but that's a minor infraction. I will be buying a set for my wife's 09 Jetta.

671 of 1277 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
7.2  
Review Date
October 09, 2013
Vehicle
2010 VW GTI VI 2/4-DOOR
Location
OVERLAND PARK, KS
Driving Conditions
Mostly Dry
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
6 months
Miles Driven on Tires
1500
Ride Comfort
7.0  
Cornering/Steering
6.0  
Ride Noise
4.0  
Tread Life
9.0  
Dry Traction
8.0  
Wet Traction
9.0  
Winter Traction
7.0  
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

Decent handling good in wet weather.

Tire Cons

Hard to balance.

They were hard to balance, there were 2 of the four tires that were so noisy that I had to replace them after 4 months, discount tire sent me 2 new tires and they balanced up much better and they were much quieter. Overall they were a good buy for the money. They also seem to be wearing well.

499 of 976 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
7.7  
Review Date
March 03, 2014
Vehicle
2000 AUDI S4 ALL
Location
SPRINGFIELD, IL
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
6 months
Miles Driven on Tires
4000
Ride Comfort
8.0  
Cornering/Steering
8.0  
Ride Noise
7.0  
Tread Life
7.0  
Dry Traction
8.0  
Wet Traction
8.0  
Winter Traction
7.0  
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

Great price for a good tire.

Tire Cons

None really

Good tires

402 of 808 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
8.7  
Review Date
September 06, 2013
Vehicle
2009 MERCEDES BENZ CLK350 209 CHASIS
Location
ALBUQUERQUE, NM
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
3 months
Miles Driven on Tires
3000
Ride Comfort
9.0  
Cornering/Steering
9.0  
Ride Noise
9.0  
Tread Life
8.0  
Dry Traction
9.0  
Wet Traction
8.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

smooth and quiet, lots of grip

Tire Cons

none yet

even though this is a mid priced tire,so far they are far superior to the much higher priced Yokohama tires they replaced. Did the research on these and they have exceeded my expectations.

696 of 1420 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
10.0  
Review Date
November 12, 2015
Vehicle
2006 AUDI TT 4-CYL
Location
Henderson, NV
Driving Conditions
Mostly Dry
Driving Style
Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
1000
Ride Comfort
10.0  
Cornering/Steering
10.0  
Ride Noise
10.0  
Tread Life
10.0  
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
10.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

Smooth quiet ride with exelent cornering traction

4 of 9 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Nevermind

Thank you for taking the time to notify us of an inappropriate review.

Our trusted experts will evaluate this review and take the proper actions.