TIRE REVIEWS Tire Reviews by Product

Tire Size: 225/50-17
Tire Image
Continental ExtremeContact DW

225/50-17 (Reading the Tire Size)

Average Customer Rating

For All Vehicles (6)
8.0  
Filter

Filtering Options

(For Best Results, Sort One Option at a Time.)
(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that sort.)
Sort

Sort Reviews

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles

(6 Total Reviews)
Rating
10.0  
Review Date
June 13, 2015
Vehicle
2005 BMW 530I /E60 SEDAN
Location
Waxhaw, NC
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mostly City
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
30000
Ride Comfort
10.0  
Cornering/Steering
10.0  
Ride Noise
10.0  
Tread Life
10.0  
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
10.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Smooth, Quiet, Good tread wear. 2nd set on this car

Tire Cons

Not the cheapest but good value

Would highly recommend

70 of 106 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
9.8  
Review Date
January 07, 2013
Vehicle
2010 AUDI A4 2.0T QUATTRO SEDAN
Location
VALENCIA, CA
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
1 month
Miles Driven on Tires
400
Ride Comfort
10.0  
Cornering/Steering
9.0  
Ride Noise
10.0  
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
10.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Very sticky tires, don't slide even when driven very aggressively.

Tire Cons

Steering response is a little imperfect, but still early days before the tires wear in.

I purchased these tires from this online store on Black Friday as their special deal with free shipping and a $50 discount (deal still in effect as of Jan 7th, 2013). I am not disappointed and would buy these tires again. I have noticed I can carry even more speed while cornering when my old tires would let go and slide. The only downside is the steering response going over uneven surfaces is less than perfect, but it is something I have adapted to. The tires stop the car fast and feel grippy out of the garage. Definately worth the price.

355 of 635 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
5.5  
Review Date
November 12, 2015
Vehicle
2002 NISSAN MAXIMA SE
Location
Brighton, CO
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
5 years
Miles Driven on Tires
40000
Ride Comfort
8.0  
Cornering/Steering
3.0  
Ride Noise
7.0  
Tread Life
10.0  
Dry Traction
3.0  
Wet Traction
2.0  
Winter Traction
8.0  
Buy Tire Again Not Likely

Tire Pros

lasts forever good in snow

Tire Cons

dry and wet traction

Must be a hard compound - tires screech when corning, spin when accelerating in rain, and seem to never wear out. Despite above, tires did fairly well in snow because of the tread pattern.

9 of 17 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
5.7  
Review Date
November 04, 2014
Vehicle
2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE LT
Location
Strasburg, CO
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
1 year 8 months
Miles Driven on Tires
57000
Ride Comfort
5.0  
Cornering/Steering
7.0  
Ride Noise
2.0  
Tread Life
7.0  
Dry Traction
7.0  
Wet Traction
6.0  
Winter Traction
4.0  
Buy Tire Again Not Likely

Tire Pros

Great performance in the first half of the life of the tires

Tire Cons

Mediocre performance in 2nd half of life of tires.

Tires were great in the first 30,000 miles, rotated every 7,500 mi, all performance factors dropped considerably in the last half of the life span of the tire. most notably was when driving in wet conditions, they were terrible, and snow and ice was very bad at the end (From 8/32ns to 4/32nds). Long story short, they lasted 58,000, but suffered towards the end.

90 of 193 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
10.0  
Review Date
February 20, 2015
Vehicle
2011 HONDA ACCORD LX-S COUPE
Location
Pleasant Hill, CA
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mostly City
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
2500
Ride Comfort
10.0  
Cornering/Steering
10.0  
Ride Noise
10.0  
Tread Life
10.0  
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
10.0  
Winter Traction
8.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Quality long wearing tires, not made in China

Tire Cons

Expensive

These tires make the car ride much smoother and corner better than the original inexpensive tires my Honda Accord came with. I feel confident driving on wet and dry roads. I drove the car once to the Sierras and I was less confident in the ability to stop in the icy roads.

49 of 107 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
6.8  
Review Date
November 14, 2015
Vehicle
2009 LINCOLN MKZ SEDAN
Location
Hudson, WI
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
1 year 9 months
Miles Driven on Tires
31553
Ride Comfort
8.0  
Cornering/Steering
8.0  
Ride Noise
8.0  
Tread Life
1.0  
Dry Traction
8.0  
Wet Traction
8.0  
Winter Traction
8.0  
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

Did well in snow

Tire Cons

Horrible tread life and wore unevenly

Terrible tire- I rotate religiously and stay on top of the pressure and these tires lasted less than two years and only 31,000 miles. I am absolutely disgusted that they didn't hold up. Replaced them with Michelins which was the OEM tire. The OEMs went for 73,000 and probably could have squeezed 80,000 out of them. I also had a uneven wear issue that created a "tire dominance" issue causing an unnecessary trip and expense at the alignment shop only to find out there was no wear or misalignment of the suspension. Will NEVER buy Continental tires again!

9 of 20 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Nevermind

Thank you for taking the time to notify us of an inappropriate review.

Our trusted experts will evaluate this review and take the proper actions.