TIRE REVIEWS Tire Reviews by Product

Tire Size: 225/45-17
Tire Image
Continental ContiProContact

225/45-17 (Reading the Tire Size)

Average Customer Rating

For All Vehicles (7)
8.2  
Filter

Filtering Options

(For Best Results, Sort One Option at a Time.)
(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that sort.)
Sort

Sort Reviews

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles

(7 Total Reviews)
Rating
6.7  
Review Date
September 18, 2015
Vehicle
2012 VW GOLF VI TDI
Location
Corinth, TX
Driving Conditions
Mostly Dry
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
3 years
Miles Driven on Tires
26000
Ride Comfort
7.0  
Cornering/Steering
8.0  
Ride Noise
6.0  
Tread Life
4.0  
Dry Traction
8.0  
Wet Traction
7.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

Good wet and dry tractions

Tire Cons

lots of noise as they age, and wear QUICKLY

These tires came standard on my Golf, and they were good at first, but as they wear, they start making lots of noise. But even worse, these tires are supposed to be good for 60,000 miles, I have less than half that and will need to replace them soon. They wear way to quickly. I have contracted Continental, and waiting on their answer. I cannot recommend these tires.

14 of 21 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
8.7  
Review Date
November 03, 2013
Vehicle
2009 VW RABBIT 2/4 DOOR
Location
NOVI, MI
Driving Conditions
Mostly Dry
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
6 months
Miles Driven on Tires
5000
Ride Comfort
8.0  
Cornering/Steering
10.0  
Ride Noise
7.0  
Tread Life
7.0  
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
10.0  
Winter Traction
4.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Excellent response, linear, predictable handling, good rolling smoothness. Fun to drive.

Tire Cons

Noisy on coarse surfaces. Somewhat sharp impact feel over tar strips and pot holes (Michigan roads!).

This is the OE tire for the VW Rabbit and it seems to be ideal for the car in every aspect. Wear, performance, ride, fun to drive. A true sports sedan in the European character. This is the second set on the car and, if anything, is somewhat improved in terms of smoothness and impact feel - perhaps there has been an engineering upgrade? My recommendation to Rabbit/Golf owners: do not experiment with other offerings - this is about as good as it gets (reviewer is a retired R&H engineer).

320 of 594 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
9.3  
Review Date
January 18, 2013
Vehicle
2005 JAGUAR X-TYPE 3.0 SPORT
Location
CLERMONT, FL
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
7 months
Miles Driven on Tires
9000
Ride Comfort
10.0  
Cornering/Steering
10.0  
Ride Noise
8.0  
Tread Life
8.0  
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
10.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

Over all, completely satisfied

314 of 594 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
9.0  
Review Date
November 21, 2013
Vehicle
2011 VW JETTA VI TDI SPTWGN
Location
COLORADO SPRINGS, CO
Driving Conditions
Mostly Dry
Driving Style
Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for
6 months
Miles Driven on Tires
15000
Ride Comfort
7.0  
Cornering/Steering
9.0  
Ride Noise
10.0  
Tread Life
10.0  
Dry Traction
9.0  
Wet Traction
9.0  
Winter Traction
8.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Great tread life, holds air pressure well.

Tire Cons

Wish ride comfort would be better.

I bought theis set of tires because they came with the car when I bought it new. I think I would have received more miles on the original tires (60,000 miles) if I would have rotated the tires more consistantly.

306 of 582 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
6.0  
Review Date
February 23, 2013
Vehicle
2010 VW JETTA V TDI SPTWGN
Location
TALLAHASSEE, FL
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
2 years 8 months
Miles Driven on Tires
26400
Ride Comfort
6.0  
Cornering/Steering
8.0  
Ride Noise
6.0  
Tread Life
4.0  
Dry Traction
8.0  
Wet Traction
4.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

For about 20k miles they handled well and had good wet and dry traction. Tracked well.

Tire Cons

Poor tread life. Once worn no wet traction. Harsh ride.

Had to replace at less than half of claimed tread life due to complete lack of wet traction. About 4/32 tread remaining at 26k.

252 of 539 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
9.7  
Review Date
August 14, 2015
Vehicle
2011 VW JETTA VI TDI SPTWGN
Location
Colorado Springs, CO
Driving Conditions
Mostly Dry
Driving Style
Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for
2 years 3 months
Miles Driven on Tires
4800
Ride Comfort
10.0  
Cornering/Steering
9.0  
Ride Noise
10.0  
Tread Life
10.0  
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
9.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

.

Tire Cons

.

.

9 of 24 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
7.8  
Review Date
October 20, 2015
Vehicle
2013 VW JETTA VI TDI SEDAN
Location
Scottsdale, AZ
Driving Conditions
Mostly Dry
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
3 years
Miles Driven on Tires
17800
Ride Comfort
8.0  
Cornering/Steering
9.0  
Ride Noise
9.0  
Tread Life
4.0  
Dry Traction
9.0  
Wet Traction
8.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Not Likely

Tire Pros

Great handling, quiet

Tire Cons

Disappointing tread wear

Tires came new on my VW. Continental makes a good tire. VW specs a low profile side wall, so I knew the ride would be a little harsh. Quiet, great grip and handling dry and decent wet in the occasional rain here in Arizona. Had the car in for annual service today, dealer measured the tread wear and said I was at 4/32 on all four tires after only 17800 miles. That's at VW's recommendation of being replaced. Disappointing tread life now that I'm having to consider new tires soon.

5 of 14 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Nevermind

Thank you for taking the time to notify us of an inappropriate review.

Our trusted experts will evaluate this review and take the proper actions.