TIRE REVIEWS Tire Reviews by Product

Tire Size: 205/55-16
Tire Image
General Altimax Arctic

205/55-16 (Reading the Tire Size)

Average Customer Rating

For All Vehicles (47)
8.3  
Filter

Filtering Options

(For Best Results, Sort One Option at a Time.)
(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that sort.)
Sort

Sort Reviews

Page

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles

(47 Total Reviews)
Rating
9.0  
Review Date
March 28, 2015
Vehicle
2006 SUBARU IMPREZA 2.5I
Location
Milford, PA
Driving Conditions
Snow
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
12457
Ride Comfort
8.0  
Cornering/Steering
9.0  
Ride Noise
9.0  
Tread Life
9.0  
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
9.0  
Winter Traction
9.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Great price, ride and traction

Tire Cons

Cannot find a thing wrong with these . we have them on all four of our cars.

I will be very disappointed if these tires ever become unavailable! I will use them as long as I drive

8 of 10 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
8.0  
Review Date
May 03, 2014
Vehicle
2012 VW JETTA VI GLI SEDAN
Location
YORK, ME
Driving Conditions
Snow
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
6 months
Miles Driven on Tires
4000
Ride Comfort
8.0  
Cornering/Steering
8.0  
Ride Noise
7.0  
Tread Life
8.0  
Dry Traction
8.0  
Wet Traction
9.0  
Winter Traction
10.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

good tires great service and honest sales people

27 of 37 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
9.8  
Review Date
May 08, 2014
Vehicle
2010 NISSAN SENTRA 2.0S
Location
OTTAWA, ON
Driving Conditions
Snow
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
8 months
Miles Driven on Tires
3500
Ride Comfort
10.0  
Cornering/Steering
10.0  
Ride Noise
10.0  
Tread Life
10.0  
Dry Traction
9.0  
Wet Traction
10.0  
Winter Traction
10.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

very quiet tire for a winter tire. Much better than the goodyear tires they replace

Tire Cons

none

Very quiet tire on dry conditions with maximum traction to handle the winter we just went through. Excellent control in all conditions. Would definatley purchase them again!

35 of 49 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
9.7  
Review Date
March 28, 2015
Vehicle
2003 LEXUS IS 300 5-SPEED
Location
Clinton, MA
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
3000
Ride Comfort
10.0  
Cornering/Steering
10.0  
Ride Noise
8.0  
Tread Life
10.0  
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
10.0  
Winter Traction
10.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Traction is excellent in snowy / icy conditions.

Tire Cons

None.

I put these on my Lexus IS300 rear wheel drive. I used to be scared to drive in the snow before I put these on my car. These tires plowed right through the New England snow / ice this year. On dry roads they have a "squishy" feel to them, but that is expected because of the soft rubber for grip. Will definitely purchase these again. They are reasonably priced compared to other brands.

19 of 31 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
8.3  
Review Date
June 25, 2013
Vehicle
2002 VW GOLF IV GTI 1.8T
Location
WESTMINSTER, MD
Driving Conditions
Snow
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
6 months
Miles Driven on Tires
11000
Ride Comfort
8.0  
Cornering/Steering
7.0  
Ride Noise
7.0  
Tread Life
8.0  
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
10.0  
Winter Traction
10.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Great price. Even treadwear. Barely more noise than touring tires.

Tire Cons

none

I didn't want to deal with any winter weather using my performance tires on my 2002 VW GTI, so I picked up a set of MB rims and these General Altimax tires for my car. The tires had such great traction in the winter weather, I never once needed to use my Jeep to get through the snow. Based on the treadwear, I expect to get 3 full winter seasons out of these tires, which is perfect for me. Why buy the most expensive winter tires when these are great.

42 of 70 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
7.8  
Review Date
April 10, 2013
Vehicle
1998 AUDI A4 ALL
Location
BEAVERTON, MI
Driving Conditions
Mostly Rain
Driving Style
Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for
6 months
Miles Driven on Tires
3000
Ride Comfort
8.0  
Cornering/Steering
8.0  
Ride Noise
7.0  
Tread Life
8.0  
Dry Traction
7.0  
Wet Traction
9.0  
Winter Traction
9.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

Great tires...bought as winter set for a 98 Audi quattro ...very happy with the performance in snow...the first big storm(6+ in) the car did better than my 4wd truck holding the road...just went back to the summer tires but will definatly buy again once the wear out...hoping to get 4-5 winters out of them

39 of 65 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
10.0  
Review Date
January 29, 2015
Vehicle
2006 PONTIAC VIBE HATCHBACK
Location
State College, PA
Driving Conditions
Snow
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
3000
Ride Comfort
10.0  
Cornering/Steering
10.0  
Ride Noise
10.0  
Tread Life
10.0  
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
10.0  
Winter Traction
10.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Good grip

Tire Cons

None Provided

These tires perform great in the snow. They track threw the snow and really grip the road surface. If you are looking for an affordable and good snow tire that won't break the bank, you have found it!

6 of 10 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
10.0  
Review Date
March 21, 2013
Vehicle
2012 VW JETTA VI TDI SEDAN
Location
LAKE VILLA, IL
Driving Conditions
Snow
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
5000
Ride Comfort
10.0  
Cornering/Steering
10.0  
Ride Noise
10.0  
Tread Life
10.0  
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
10.0  
Winter Traction
10.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Unbelievably good grip in snow

Tire Cons

None so far

Excellent tire, despite the low price. Night and day difference from the OEM tire, and I really had to hoon it to lose traction (even on snow/ice).

59 of 99 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
5.3  
Review Date
June 01, 2013
Vehicle
2012 MAZDA 3 5-DOOR
Location
PORT COQUITLAM, BC
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
6 months
Miles Driven on Tires
4000
Ride Comfort
6.0  
Cornering/Steering
5.0  
Ride Noise
5.0  
Tread Life
5.0  
Dry Traction
5.0  
Wet Traction
6.0  
Winter Traction
6.0  
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

I'm quite happy with the performance of the tires. They were well and priced and they do what is expected for the price, no less.

43 of 75 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
7.7  
Review Date
May 18, 2013
Vehicle
2006 VW JETTA V 2.5/TDI
Location
COLORADO SPRINGS, CO
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
6 months
Miles Driven on Tires
9000
Ride Comfort
9.0  
Cornering/Steering
7.0  
Ride Noise
7.0  
Tread Life
7.0  
Dry Traction
8.0  
Wet Traction
8.0  
Winter Traction
9.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Good handling on ice/snow.

Tire Cons

Fair handling in dry conditions

For the price, these are about the best quality winter tires available. Winter driving is significantly improved with these tires -- I replaced my winter tires with my all-season tires two days before a snow storm (last month) and saw a significant difference in handling. I would absolutely recommend the General Altimax Arctic tire for anyone in the market for a snow tire.

44 of 77 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Nevermind

Thank you for taking the time to notify us of an inappropriate review.

Our trusted experts will evaluate this review and take the proper actions.