TIRE REVIEWS Tire Reviews by Product

Tire Size: 205/55-16
Tire Image
General Altimax Arctic

205/55-16 (Reading the Tire Size)

Average Customer Rating

For All Vehicles (47)
8.3  
Filter

Filtering Options

(For Best Results, Sort One Option at a Time.)
(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that sort.)
Sort

Sort Reviews

Page

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles

(47 Total Reviews)
Rating
7.8  
Review Date
March 06, 2016
Vehicle
2015 VW GOLF VII TDI 5-DOOR
Location
Alexandria Bay, NY
Driving Conditions
Snow
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
7500
Ride Comfort
8.0  
Cornering/Steering
8.0  
Ride Noise
6.0  
Tread Life
9.0  
Dry Traction
8.0  
Wet Traction
8.0  
Winter Traction
8.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

Great all around winter is tire. I have same tires on a 2010 VW Golf and have driven numerous times through freezing rain, sleet, and blizzards. Tires and car hold road extremely well. P.S. Discount Tire Direct went above and beyond resolving an initial problem with a different set of tires. Buy with confidence, I do.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
8.8  
Review Date
March 31, 2016
Vehicle
2006 SUBARU IMPREZA WRX TR SDN
Location
Somerville, MA
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
3 months
Miles Driven on Tires
6000
Ride Comfort
9.0  
Cornering/Steering
7.0  
Ride Noise
8.0  
Tread Life
10.0  
Dry Traction
9.0  
Wet Traction
10.0  
Winter Traction
10.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Amazing value

Tire Cons

Slight noise increase on highway

With these General Altimax tires on my AWD Subaru WRX, there is nothing that my vehicle cannot go through. The traction and stability in wet/snowy/icy conditions was impressive and provided comfort in even the worst conditions when most people weren't on the road. I never thought my AWD vehicle needed snow tires until I put these on this past winter. I do not think it is necessary to stud these tires if any buyers were considering doing so but you always have the option if you live in a snow-heavy climate! I went 16" (one size down) for my WRX and was more than satisfied with my purchase. I highly recommend this product especially at such a great value.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
8.8  
Review Date
January 23, 2015
Vehicle
2010 NISSAN SENTRA 2.0S
Location
Liberty Lake, WA
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
3500
Ride Comfort
9.0  
Cornering/Steering
9.0  
Ride Noise
8.0  
Tread Life
9.0  
Dry Traction
9.0  
Wet Traction
9.0  
Winter Traction
9.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Good Smooth ride Quiet ride(studless)

Tire Cons

n/a

Tires are a good bargain for the price and would buy again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
5.3  
Review Date
February 05, 2015
Vehicle
2014 NISSAN VERSA SEDAN SL
Location
Stockholm, NJ
Driving Conditions
Snow
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
1500
Ride Comfort
5.0  
Cornering/Steering
6.0  
Ride Noise
4.0  
Tread Life
7.0  
Dry Traction
5.0  
Wet Traction
5.0  
Winter Traction
9.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Traction in light to medium snow is very good.

Tire Cons

Dry and wet handling could be better, but they're not bad for a dedicated snow tire.

Getting a lot of snow use this winter (2015) and these tires handle the snowy conditions with ease. The dry and wet traction could be better, but are not not bad for dedicated snows.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
9.4  
Review Date
February 17, 2016
Vehicle
2009 VW JETTA V SE SEDAN
Location
Weare, NH
Driving Conditions
Snow
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
3000
Ride Comfort
10.0  
Cornering/Steering
9.0  
Ride Noise
8.0  
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
10.0  
Winter Traction
9.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

The tires work great in the snow

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
9.0  
Review Date
March 28, 2015
Vehicle
2006 SUBARU IMPREZA 2.5I
Location
Milford, PA
Driving Conditions
Snow
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
12457
Ride Comfort
8.0  
Cornering/Steering
9.0  
Ride Noise
9.0  
Tread Life
9.0  
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
9.0  
Winter Traction
9.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Great price, ride and traction

Tire Cons

Cannot find a thing wrong with these . we have them on all four of our cars.

I will be very disappointed if these tires ever become unavailable! I will use them as long as I drive

11 of 16 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
8.0  
Review Date
May 03, 2014
Vehicle
2012 VW JETTA VI GLI SEDAN
Location
YORK, ME
Driving Conditions
Snow
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
6 months
Miles Driven on Tires
4000
Ride Comfort
8.0  
Cornering/Steering
8.0  
Ride Noise
7.0  
Tread Life
8.0  
Dry Traction
8.0  
Wet Traction
9.0  
Winter Traction
10.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

good tires great service and honest sales people

29 of 43 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
9.8  
Review Date
May 08, 2014
Vehicle
2010 NISSAN SENTRA 2.0S
Location
OTTAWA, ON
Driving Conditions
Snow
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
8 months
Miles Driven on Tires
3500
Ride Comfort
10.0  
Cornering/Steering
10.0  
Ride Noise
10.0  
Tread Life
10.0  
Dry Traction
9.0  
Wet Traction
10.0  
Winter Traction
10.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

very quiet tire for a winter tire. Much better than the goodyear tires they replace

Tire Cons

none

Very quiet tire on dry conditions with maximum traction to handle the winter we just went through. Excellent control in all conditions. Would definatley purchase them again!

37 of 55 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
9.6  
Review Date
January 29, 2015
Vehicle
2004 SUBARU IMPREZA WRX SEDAN
Location
Saint Paul, MN
Driving Conditions
Snow
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
2000
Ride Comfort
10.0  
Cornering/Steering
10.0  
Ride Noise
9.0  
Tread Life
10.0  
Dry Traction N/A
Wet Traction
9.0  
Winter Traction
10.0  
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

My first winter with now tires on an AWD car and by can you tell the difference. The car doesn't slide around as easily as it would have if I had my all seasons on. I try to break traction in the snow and it won't let me. Will definitely get another pair of these for my wife's car too.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
7.2  
Review Date
April 21, 2016
Vehicle
2012 MAZDA 3 5-DOOR
Location
Dryden, NY
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
6 months
Miles Driven on Tires
6400
Ride Comfort
7.0  
Cornering/Steering
7.0  
Ride Noise
5.0  
Tread Life
7.0  
Dry Traction
8.0  
Wet Traction
9.0  
Winter Traction
9.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Good ride, and not as noisy as feared

Tire Cons

Hurt gas mileage about 1 mpg.

Discount Tire Direct delivered the tires quickly, mounted on new wheels, balanced perfectly (no vibration up to 80 mph)at a very good price. Purchased in fall, then winter never came. I wanted an aggressive snow tire and never got to drive in more than 2" of snow, but they seemed to handle that very well. Maybe they handled a bit "squishier" than the summer tires, but not an issue for my moderate driving style. The noise was noticeable at 25 - 40 mph, but then got lost in road and other noise above that. They may be getting noisier with wear, but still not objectionable. I'm very happy with Discount Tire Direct and the Altimax tires.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Nevermind

Thank you for taking the time to notify us of an inappropriate review.

Our trusted experts will evaluate this review and take the proper actions.