TIRE REVIEWS Tire Reviews by Product

Tire Size: 205/55-16
Tire Image
General Altimax Arctic

205/55-16 (Reading the Tire Size)

Average Customer Rating

For All Vehicles (47)
8.3  
Filter

Filtering Options

(For Best Results, Sort One Option at a Time.)
(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that sort.)
Sort

Sort Reviews

Page

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles

(47 Total Reviews)
Rating
8.5  
Review Date
January 17, 2015
Vehicle
2014 SUBARU IMPREZA 5-DOOR 2.0I
Location
Wynantskill, NY
Driving Conditions
Snow
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
1500
Ride Comfort
8.0  
Cornering/Steering
8.0  
Ride Noise
8.0  
Tread Life
8.0  
Dry Traction
9.0  
Wet Traction
10.0  
Winter Traction
10.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

traction in the snow and ice

Tire Cons

None Provided

I drove in the snow in that Snow the day before Thanksgiving, from Albany, NY to Weare, NH. What should have been 4 hours took 8 hours. It was a mess, cars were off the road, a mountain pass was closed and I had to take an alternate. Never once did I feel the car was out of control. All wheel drive and snow tires make all the difference.

47 of 82 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
9.7  
Review Date
March 28, 2015
Vehicle
2003 LEXUS IS 300 5-SPEED
Location
Clinton, MA
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
3000
Ride Comfort
10.0  
Cornering/Steering
10.0  
Ride Noise
8.0  
Tread Life
10.0  
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
10.0  
Winter Traction
10.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Traction is excellent in snowy / icy conditions.

Tire Cons

None.

I put these on my Lexus IS300 rear wheel drive. I used to be scared to drive in the snow before I put these on my car. These tires plowed right through the New England snow / ice this year. On dry roads they have a "squishy" feel to them, but that is expected because of the soft rubber for grip. Will definitely purchase these again. They are reasonably priced compared to other brands.

71 of 127 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
7.8  
Review Date
April 10, 2013
Vehicle
1998 AUDI A4 ALL
Location
BEAVERTON, MI
Driving Conditions
Mostly Rain
Driving Style
Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for
6 months
Miles Driven on Tires
3000
Ride Comfort
8.0  
Cornering/Steering
8.0  
Ride Noise
7.0  
Tread Life
8.0  
Dry Traction
7.0  
Wet Traction
9.0  
Winter Traction
9.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

Great tires...bought as winter set for a 98 Audi quattro ...very happy with the performance in snow...the first big storm(6+ in) the car did better than my 4wd truck holding the road...just went back to the summer tires but will definatly buy again once the wear out...hoping to get 4-5 winters out of them

81 of 146 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
8.0  
Review Date
January 23, 2016
Vehicle
2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA HATCH GT
Location
East Amherst, NY
Driving Conditions
Snow
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
2000
Ride Comfort
9.0  
Cornering/Steering
8.0  
Ride Noise
8.0  
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction
7.0  
Wet Traction
8.0  
Winter Traction
9.0  
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

Grip on snow & ice.

Tire Cons

louder than a touring tire

superior traction on snow covered untreated surfaces.

56 of 101 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
10.0  
Review Date
March 21, 2013
Vehicle
2012 VW JETTA VI TDI SEDAN
Location
LAKE VILLA, IL
Driving Conditions
Snow
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
5000
Ride Comfort
10.0  
Cornering/Steering
10.0  
Ride Noise
10.0  
Tread Life
10.0  
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
10.0  
Winter Traction
10.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Unbelievably good grip in snow

Tire Cons

None so far

Excellent tire, despite the low price. Night and day difference from the OEM tire, and I really had to hoon it to lose traction (even on snow/ice).

132 of 239 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
5.3  
Review Date
February 05, 2015
Vehicle
2014 NISSAN VERSA SEDAN SL
Location
Stockholm, NJ
Driving Conditions
Snow
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
1500
Ride Comfort
5.0  
Cornering/Steering
6.0  
Ride Noise
4.0  
Tread Life
7.0  
Dry Traction
5.0  
Wet Traction
5.0  
Winter Traction
9.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Traction in light to medium snow is very good.

Tire Cons

Dry and wet handling could be better, but they're not bad for a dedicated snow tire.

Getting a lot of snow use this winter (2015) and these tires handle the snowy conditions with ease. The dry and wet traction could be better, but are not not bad for dedicated snows.

82 of 149 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
8.3  
Review Date
June 25, 2013
Vehicle
2002 VW GOLF IV GTI 1.8T
Location
WESTMINSTER, MD
Driving Conditions
Snow
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
6 months
Miles Driven on Tires
11000
Ride Comfort
8.0  
Cornering/Steering
7.0  
Ride Noise
7.0  
Tread Life
8.0  
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
10.0  
Winter Traction
10.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Great price. Even treadwear. Barely more noise than touring tires.

Tire Cons

none

I didn't want to deal with any winter weather using my performance tires on my 2002 VW GTI, so I picked up a set of MB rims and these General Altimax tires for my car. The tires had such great traction in the winter weather, I never once needed to use my Jeep to get through the snow. Based on the treadwear, I expect to get 3 full winter seasons out of these tires, which is perfect for me. Why buy the most expensive winter tires when these are great.

105 of 192 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
9.8  
Review Date
May 08, 2014
Vehicle
2010 NISSAN SENTRA 2.0S
Location
OTTAWA, ON
Driving Conditions
Snow
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
8 months
Miles Driven on Tires
3500
Ride Comfort
10.0  
Cornering/Steering
10.0  
Ride Noise
10.0  
Tread Life
10.0  
Dry Traction
9.0  
Wet Traction
10.0  
Winter Traction
10.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

very quiet tire for a winter tire. Much better than the goodyear tires they replace

Tire Cons

none

Very quiet tire on dry conditions with maximum traction to handle the winter we just went through. Excellent control in all conditions. Would definatley purchase them again!

103 of 189 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
10.0  
Review Date
January 29, 2015
Vehicle
2006 PONTIAC VIBE HATCHBACK
Location
State College, PA
Driving Conditions
Snow
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
3000
Ride Comfort
10.0  
Cornering/Steering
10.0  
Ride Noise
10.0  
Tread Life
10.0  
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
10.0  
Winter Traction
10.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Good grip

Tire Cons

None Provided

These tires perform great in the snow. They track threw the snow and really grip the road surface. If you are looking for an affordable and good snow tire that won't break the bank, you have found it!

69 of 127 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
6.5  
Review Date
April 22, 2015
Vehicle
2005 TOYOTA MATRIX XR
Location
Idyllwild, CA
Driving Conditions
Mostly Dry
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
2000
Ride Comfort
8.0  
Cornering/Steering
7.0  
Ride Noise
4.0  
Tread Life
7.0  
Dry Traction
6.0  
Wet Traction
7.0  
Winter Traction
10.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

When installed with studs, ice and snow are taken in stride. Although we do not see snow for a lot of days, we do get (at times) significant snow but more importantly we get ice and these tires give us the confidence needed to get around safely.

76 of 140 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Nevermind

Thank you for taking the time to notify us of an inappropriate review.

Our trusted experts will evaluate this review and take the proper actions.