TIRE REVIEWS Tire Reviews by Product

Tire Size: 205/65-15
Tire Image
General Altimax Arctic

205/65-15 (Reading the Tire Size)

Average Customer Rating

For All Vehicles (12)
8.3  
Filter

Filtering Options

(For Best Results, Sort One Option at a Time.)
(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that sort.)
Sort

Sort Reviews

Page

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles

(12 Total Reviews)
Rating
7.6  
Review Date
March 10, 2016
Vehicle
1985 PORSCHE 944 COUPE
Location
Englewood, CO
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
5 months
Miles Driven on Tires
6000
Ride Comfort
8.0  
Cornering/Steering
7.0  
Ride Noise
8.0  
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction
6.0  
Wet Traction
9.0  
Winter Traction
9.0  
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

Great poor weather traction. Not too noisy. Inexpensive.

Tire Cons

Light steering feel

Great, inexpensive winter tire. Not very noisy. Good traction without studs. Gets my '85 Porsche amount just fine in winter.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
8.2  
Review Date
June 03, 2013
Vehicle
1994 TOYOTA PICK-UP 2WD
Location
BLOOMINGDALE, IL
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
6 months
Miles Driven on Tires
3500
Ride Comfort
8.0  
Cornering/Steering
8.0  
Ride Noise
6.0  
Tread Life
9.0  
Dry Traction
9.0  
Wet Traction
9.0  
Winter Traction
9.0  
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

Price, value, quality, treadlife.

Tire Cons

Little noisy at highway speeds which is very common for winter tires

Good value for the money. I had Bridgestone Blizzak's before this set of General Altimax Arctic's and would rate them just as good. The Bridgestone's were sold out so I opted for the General's and I'm glad I did. Got a good deal on them also.

28 of 42 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
8.8  
Review Date
February 01, 2015
Vehicle
2005 MAZDA 6 I
Location
Marilla, NY
Driving Conditions
Snow
Driving Style
Mostly City
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
2000
Ride Comfort
9.0  
Cornering/Steering
9.0  
Ride Noise
8.0  
Tread Life
9.0  
Dry Traction
9.0  
Wet Traction
9.0  
Winter Traction
10.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

great snow tire

Tire Cons

none

record snow fall in Buffalo N.Y. these tires makes my wife a lot more at ease driving in the snow also this is my 6th wheel and tire pkg. Patrick Byron is great to deal with

18 of 31 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
5.7  
Review Date
May 27, 2013
Vehicle
1999 FORD TAURUS GL/SE/LX
Location
EUREKA, MT
Driving Conditions
Snow
Driving Style
Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for
6 months
Miles Driven on Tires
2000
Ride Comfort
6.0  
Cornering/Steering
6.0  
Ride Noise
7.0  
Tread Life
5.0  
Dry Traction
4.0  
Wet Traction
6.0  
Winter Traction
7.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

good winter tire, smooth and quiet

28 of 49 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
8.7  
Review Date
March 29, 2015
Vehicle
2002 TOYOTA CAMRY LE
Location
Hubbardsville, NY
Driving Conditions
Snow
Driving Style
Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
4500
Ride Comfort
9.0  
Cornering/Steering
8.0  
Ride Noise
10.0  
Tread Life
9.0  
Dry Traction
8.0  
Wet Traction
8.0  
Winter Traction
9.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Aggressive tread Can be studded Handles well in cold dry roads as well

Tire Cons

None Provided

Hard winter here and my commute to work is over secondary country roads that are not on the top of the counties list to get plowed initially. There are a lot of twists and hills along with crowned roads. These tires did a fantastic job! I like the fact that I can put studs on if necessary. This might be an option for next year given the type of snow we've gotten these last two years... however, I would have to say these served me very well this season...even in those few times no one should have been on the roads till the plows got out!

11 of 20 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
7.8  
Review Date
July 09, 2013
Vehicle
2003 SAAB 9-3 LINEAR SEDAN
Location
MINNEAPOLIS, MN
Driving Conditions
Snow
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
6 months
Miles Driven on Tires
5000
Ride Comfort
8.0  
Cornering/Steering
7.0  
Ride Noise
7.0  
Tread Life
7.0  
Dry Traction
9.0  
Wet Traction
9.0  
Winter Traction
9.0  
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

Good price and great performance in the snow.

Tire Cons

Nothing outside of normal winter tires.

I bought these in the beginning of 2013 for my 2003 Saab 9-3. I should be able to get two winters of use out of them. The difference in winter traction between these winter tires and my all season tires is like night and day. I would easily recommend these tires to anyone else. Even if they are not these specific tires, I would still recommend winter tires to anyone who has to regularly drive in snow. I wasn't able to get winter tires in the previous ten years because of lack of storage space during the summer, but had I known the confidence-inspiring traction was this good I probably would have made room for winter tires. Also, I would recommend Discount Tire because of the level of service they provide along with no charge to swap out the winter tires with all seasons when the time comes (which will be twice a year - other shops can charge up to $40 for this service if you don't buy the tires from them).

25 of 47 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
7.3  
Review Date
April 17, 2013
Vehicle
2001 MITSUBISHI ECLIPSE RS
Location
REDMOND, OR
Driving Conditions
Snow
Driving Style
Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for
6 months
Miles Driven on Tires
3000
Ride Comfort
8.0  
Cornering/Steering
5.0  
Ride Noise
8.0  
Tread Life
7.0  
Dry Traction
7.0  
Wet Traction
9.0  
Winter Traction
10.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Very quiet for studded tires. Quieter than my Yokohama summer tires actually. Did great in the snow.

Tire Cons

None Provided

Great tire for the price.

30 of 60 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
9.3  
Review Date
August 14, 2015
Vehicle
2001 MITSUBISHI ECLIPSE RS
Location
Redmond, OR
Driving Conditions
Snow
Driving Style
Mostly City
Owned Tires for
2 years 10 months
Miles Driven on Tires
5000
Ride Comfort
9.0  
Cornering/Steering
8.0  
Ride Noise
9.0  
Tread Life
10.0  
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
10.0  
Winter Traction
10.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Great tire for the money. Very quiet for a studded tire. Going on 3rd winter and haven't lost a stud yet.

Tire Cons

Nonr

Over all excellent tire. Nothing to complain about.

15 of 30 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
9.6  
Review Date
April 05, 2016
Vehicle
2014 HONDA CIVIC SEDAN NAT. GAS
Location
Tahlequah, OK
Driving Conditions
Mostly Dry
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
5000
Ride Comfort
10.0  
Cornering/Steering
10.0  
Ride Noise
8.0  
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
10.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

The tires are not that old but I do live on a dirt road and the tires seem to be holding up very well.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
10.0  
Review Date
January 20, 2014
Vehicle
1996 LEXUS ES 300 SEDAN
Location
FORT LAUDERDALE, FL
Driving Conditions
Snow
Driving Style
Mostly City
Owned Tires for
6 months
Miles Driven on Tires
10
Ride Comfort
10.0  
Cornering/Steering
10.0  
Ride Noise
10.0  
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction N/A
Wet Traction
10.0  
Winter Traction
10.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

Good tires

21 of 43 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Nevermind

Thank you for taking the time to notify us of an inappropriate review.

Our trusted experts will evaluate this review and take the proper actions.