TIRE REVIEWS Tire Reviews by Product

Tire Size: 205/70-15
Tire Image
General Altimax Arctic

205/70-15 (Reading the Tire Size)

Average Customer Rating

For All Vehicles (9)
8.6  
Filter

Filtering Options

(For Best Results, Sort One Option at a Time.)
(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that sort.)
Sort

Sort Reviews

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles

(9 Total Reviews)
Rating
10.0  
Review Date
December 01, 2013
Vehicle
1997 SUBARU LEGACY OUTBACK
Location
GREEN BAY, WI
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
2 years 6 months
Miles Driven on Tires
10000
Ride Comfort
10.0  
Cornering/Steering
10.0  
Ride Noise
10.0  
Tread Life
10.0  
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
10.0  
Winter Traction
10.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

snow,rain,dry,wet, these tires go through it all like a champ.

Tire Cons

None

People say they don't corner or grip well in dry conditions, but they do once it grips. What do you expect when the tires are made of soft compound materials unlike all seasons or summer tires. Drop the temperature and see if those two types of tires can keep up with you. I love these tires. Never got stuck once and when it snows, I go out with my Subaru to tow people out. Just about to buy a 2nd set for my BMW because they work so well for the price. I've owned a lot snow tires before and for how little of a difference between the more expensive brands and these, I'm buying these again. People forget that these are for safety and not for spirited driving. Plus people shouldn't be going that fast in winter climates in the first place.

19 of 26 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
9.7  
Review Date
January 28, 2015
Vehicle
2002 HONDA CR-V LX/EX
Location
Carbondale, CO
Driving Conditions
Mostly Dry
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
2500
Ride Comfort
9.0  
Cornering/Steering
10.0  
Ride Noise
9.0  
Tread Life
10.0  
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
10.0  
Winter Traction
10.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Price! Grip! Relatively quiet

Tire Cons

None yet

Quieter than expected. Couldn't beat the price. Enjoy a tire without stud, no compromise here. Thanks!

13 of 18 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
8.3  
Review Date
May 25, 2014
Vehicle
2000 SUBARU LEGACY OUTBACK
Location
BUTLER, TN
Driving Conditions
Mostly Dry
Driving Style
Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for
6 months
Miles Driven on Tires
3000
Ride Comfort
8.0  
Cornering/Steering
8.0  
Ride Noise
8.0  
Tread Life
10.0  
Dry Traction
8.0  
Wet Traction
8.0  
Winter Traction
10.0  
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

I have TRUSTED the advice from DTD for years...tell em what you drive and how you drive...they have always given GREAT advice!

9 of 15 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
7.2  
Review Date
November 30, 2013
Vehicle
1999 SUBARU FORESTER BASE/L/S
Location
MASSENA, NY
Driving Conditions
Snow
Driving Style
Off Road
Owned Tires for
2 months
Miles Driven on Tires
1000
Ride Comfort
7.0  
Cornering/Steering
6.0  
Ride Noise
8.0  
Tread Life
6.0  
Dry Traction
8.0  
Wet Traction
8.0  
Winter Traction
9.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Quiet Grabby Cheap Durable

Tire Cons

Low speed rating

Put these and forester rims on my 2002 impreza and my car would not get stuck in 12" of wet sticky snow! I went to every parking lot that was unplowed and drove right over the plow mound on the side of the road as well as around all the slushy roads and snowy lots! I love these tires I previously had hankook winter I pykes and the difference is night and day these tires are amazing! I even pulled a 2500 chevy out of a ditch with these!!

7 of 12 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
6.5  
Review Date
August 18, 2013
Vehicle
2000 CHEVROLET LUMINA CPE/SDN
Location
ROSEMOUNT, MN
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for
6 months
Miles Driven on Tires
3000
Ride Comfort
6.0  
Cornering/Steering
5.0  
Ride Noise
6.0  
Tread Life
7.0  
Dry Traction
7.0  
Wet Traction
8.0  
Winter Traction
10.0  
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

Value, Winter Traction

Tire Cons

Reduced cornering/handling

If you want a snow tire at a great price this is it. If you want something that gives you better traction in the winter, but still acts like a summer tire, then this is not the tire for you. I live in MN and I rotate my tires every spring & fall because I want a serious snow tire and I am willing to accept the tire being louder and not cornering as well on dry pavement....but these tires corner great on ice/snow/slush!

14 of 25 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
9.2  
Review Date
February 15, 2013
Vehicle
1999 SUBARU FORESTER BASE/L/S
Location
IRVINE, KY
Driving Conditions
Mostly Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
6 months
Miles Driven on Tires
500
Ride Comfort
10.0  
Cornering/Steering
10.0  
Ride Noise
8.0  
Tread Life
8.0  
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
9.0  
Winter Traction
9.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

make our subaru blow the others away when its bad weather.

Tire Cons

None Provided

we live in the middle of the daniel boone national forest in KY and travel through a creek and seven miles of gravel road then 10 miles of 2 lane winding hilly black top. these are the best tires we have ever had.

16 of 31 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
10.0  
Review Date
May 25, 2013
Vehicle
2003 CHEVROLET S10 PICKUP XTREME
Location
SAINT PAUL, MN
Driving Conditions
Snow
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
6 months
Miles Driven on Tires
5000
Ride Comfort
10.0  
Cornering/Steering
10.0  
Ride Noise
10.0  
Tread Life
10.0  
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
10.0  
Winter Traction
9.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Works great in snow never got stuck!

Tire Cons

Still slips on ice but what tire doesn't.

I could never drive another winter without snow tires! I never got stuck, I had a rear wheel drive truck and I would drive by others and they were struggling and I would zoom by with no problem.

9 of 18 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
9.0  
Review Date
January 27, 2015
Vehicle
1998 HONDA CR-V LX/EX
Location
Byron, IL
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
2500
Ride Comfort
9.0  
Cornering/Steering
9.0  
Ride Noise
9.0  
Tread Life
9.0  
Dry Traction
9.0  
Wet Traction
9.0  
Winter Traction
9.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Not many miles on them yet but perfect so far.

Tire Cons

None

Great tire for the price.

6 of 17 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
7.7  
Review Date
March 30, 2016
Vehicle
2003 TOYOTA TACOMA 2WD BASE
Location
Des Moines, IA
Driving Conditions
Snow
Driving Style
Mostly City
Owned Tires for
3 months
Miles Driven on Tires
2000
Ride Comfort
9.0  
Cornering/Steering
7.0  
Ride Noise
6.0  
Tread Life
7.0  
Dry Traction
7.0  
Wet Traction
10.0  
Winter Traction
10.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Really good cold and snow traction for acceleration, braking and cornering.

Tire Cons

Definately mushy on dry and warm days, but that is to be expected.

Excellent tire for winter. The difference between these and a great set of all seasons is huge. Made my Rwd truck a snow monster.

0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Nevermind

Thank you for taking the time to notify us of an inappropriate review.

Our trusted experts will evaluate this review and take the proper actions.