TIRE REVIEWS Tire Reviews by Product

Tire Size: 225/40-18
Tire Image
Continental ExtremeContact DW

225/40-18 (Reading the Tire Size)

Average Customer Rating

For All Vehicles (18)
8.7  
Filter

Filtering Options

(For Best Results, Sort One Option at a Time.)
(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that sort.)
Sort

Sort Reviews

Page

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles

(18 Total Reviews)
Rating
7.8  
Review Date
June 06, 2016
Vehicle
2003 VW GOLF IV GTI 20ANNV
Location
Moorpark, CA
Driving Conditions
Mostly Dry
Driving Style
Mostly City
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
2000
Ride Comfort
9.0  
Cornering/Steering
8.0  
Ride Noise
8.0  
Tread Life
7.0  
Dry Traction
8.0  
Wet Traction
7.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

This is my second set of these tires. Tread life is good and they are much less expensive than comparable performance tires.

Tire Cons

Somewhat reduced grip at the cornering limits compared to higher performance tires. Slightly softer turn-in response.

Great tires, worth every penny when you need a performance tire that won't break the budget.

36 of 58 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
8.5  
Review Date
February 26, 2015
Vehicle
2013 HYUNDAI VELOSTER BASE
Location
Studio City, CA
Driving Conditions
Mostly Dry
Driving Style
Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
1000
Ride Comfort
9.0  
Cornering/Steering
8.0  
Ride Noise
9.0  
Tread Life
8.0  
Dry Traction
8.0  
Wet Traction
9.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

Soft and quiet, good traction. Large water grooves in the center of tire give great water stability

Tire Cons

water grooves in the center of the tire can at times be influenced by uneven edges

Overall I am pleased with the tires, although I should point out that the water grooves in the center of the tire can at times be influenced by uneven edges/ ridges / channels in the freeway. Not a deal-breaker, just takes a little getting used to.

83 of 141 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
8.3  
Review Date
March 27, 2016
Vehicle
2004 AUDI TT QUATTRO V6/HO 4CYL
Location
Roy, WA
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
2500
Ride Comfort
8.0  
Cornering/Steering
9.0  
Ride Noise
8.0  
Tread Life
8.0  
Dry Traction
9.0  
Wet Traction
8.0  
Winter Traction
2.0  
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

Great overall performance tire for the price. Probably about the best deal you can get.

Tire Cons

I am a little more biased towards the Michelin Pilot SuperSport but they are more expensive.

Best deal going for a very good High performance summer tire. I am a little more biased towards the Michelin Pilot Super Sport but they are more expensive.

17 of 29 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
9.2  
Review Date
August 12, 2014
Vehicle
2010 MAZDA 3 MAZDASPEED
Location
Wellesley Island, NY
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
8000
Ride Comfort
9.0  
Cornering/Steering
9.0  
Ride Noise
9.0  
Tread Life
9.0  
Dry Traction
9.0  
Wet Traction
10.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Great dry and amazing wet traction, was amazed how well these tires performed in a heavy rainstorm

Tire Cons

None so far.

Great tire, way better than stock factory tires. Confidence inspiring tires!

161 of 275 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
8.0  
Review Date
May 23, 2014
Vehicle
2011 VW GTI VI 2/4-DOOR
Location
WOODLAND HILLS, CA
Driving Conditions
Mostly Dry
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
7 months
Miles Driven on Tires
5000
Ride Comfort
7.0  
Cornering/Steering
8.0  
Ride Noise
7.0  
Tread Life
8.0  
Dry Traction
9.0  
Wet Traction
9.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

VERY grippy, wearing much better than expected

Tire Cons

Soft sidewall

I put the DW on my GTI with the intention of driving the car hard and getting some performance out of the tires. They grip and wear well, and you get used to the soft sidewall.

192 of 334 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
9.8  
Review Date
July 30, 2014
Vehicle
2012 MAZDA 3 MAZDASPEED
Location
Orlando, FL
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
3 months
Miles Driven on Tires
2500
Ride Comfort
10.0  
Cornering/Steering
9.0  
Ride Noise
10.0  
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
10.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

Grippy, smooth, fairly quiet

Tire Cons

Soft on the sidewall, takes a while to warm up

It's not going to do much for steering precision or feel. It's a balanced tire for daily driving. Easy to live with. Balanced to the point of understeer and does not like multiple fast inputs. Great traction in truly hot and rainy weather. Can make one overconfident very fast. Not as fun as a Dunlop tire. Certainly in terms of real world application, speed index and comfort including its fair price, a truly hard tire to beat.

162 of 285 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
8.3  
Review Date
February 25, 2014
Vehicle
2004 VW GOLF IV GTI R32
Location
THEODORE, AL
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
6 months
Miles Driven on Tires
6000
Ride Comfort
8.0  
Cornering/Steering
10.0  
Ride Noise
8.0  
Tread Life
6.0  
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
8.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Great traction wet and dry.

Tire Cons

Not a real con beings I bought them because of superior traction but so sticky they sling pebbles everywhere for first mile or so every time I drive.

I am currently on my third set of continental extreme contact dw and I have had one set of dws. They have been amazing as far as traction and tread life. I enjoy pushing my car to its limits and these tires can handle more!

221 of 406 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
8.2  
Review Date
August 14, 2015
Vehicle
2008 MAZDA 3 MAZDASPEED
Location
Houston, TX
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Race
Owned Tires for
2 years 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
12000
Ride Comfort
8.0  
Cornering/Steering
9.0  
Ride Noise
7.0  
Tread Life
5.0  
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
10.0  
Winter Traction
5.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Amazing grip in wet and dry as well as comfort.

Tire Cons

Short life if you drive fast everywhere.

These are perfect tires for the person who likes to drive quickly and has a sports car or a performance variant of their respective model. If you don't care about performance around corners or under hard launches, don't buy these tires. Your money will go further somewhere else. However, if you want high grip, comfortable street tires that will last for a decent amount of time; you need these. Think BMW M3, CTS-V, or C63 AMG. Any car you want performance and comfort, these tires will perform. My dad put these on his WRX and the car handled like it was on rails. Buy them!

49 of 91 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
9.2  
Review Date
October 08, 2013
Vehicle
2012 SUBARU IMPREZA SEDAN WRX
Location
PARKER, CO
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
1 month
Miles Driven on Tires
300
Ride Comfort
10.0  
Cornering/Steering
8.0  
Ride Noise
10.0  
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction
9.0  
Wet Traction
9.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

Extremely quiet

Tire Cons

None yet

I always buy my tires from DT so when I decided to ditch the factory rims and tires on my 2012 WRX that's where I went. I decided to move up from 17 inch to 18's because the factory rims looked smallish. I'd originally chosen the Kumho's (4x KU22) but was they were out of stock. Salesman told me these were a better buy. I'll never know if the Kumo's would have been better but I do know that these tires are WAY quieter than the stock tires and have excellent traction. I also went this direction for the all season rating. Stock tires were terrible in the snow (not all season) so we'll see how these work. I'll re-rate these tires once I've got some snow time on them. - David in Parker, CO

229 of 427 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
9.0  
Review Date
September 05, 2012
Vehicle
2007 VW RABBIT 2/4 DOOR
Location
PITTSBURGH, PA
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
3 months
Miles Driven on Tires
3000
Ride Comfort
9.0  
Cornering/Steering
9.0  
Ride Noise
9.0  
Tread Life
9.0  
Dry Traction
9.0  
Wet Traction
9.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

quiet and they stick!

Tire Cons

none

I have a suspension and brake modded mk5 VW Rabbit with 18's. My car is pure fun with these tires. They look great on the rims. Even on wet roads it has control. No road noise so far. Proper tire for German car.

219 of 421 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Nevermind

Thank you for taking the time to notify us of an inappropriate review.

Our trusted experts will evaluate this review and take the proper actions.