TIRE REVIEWS Tire Reviews by Product

Tire Size: 225/45-17
Tire Image
Continental ExtremeContact DW

225/45-17 (Reading the Tire Size)

Average Customer Rating

For All Vehicles (8)
7.8  
Filter

Filtering Options

(For Best Results, Sort One Option at a Time.)
(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that sort.)
Sort

Sort Reviews

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles

(8 Total Reviews)
Rating
9.2  
Review Date
November 25, 2015
Vehicle
2001 AUDI S4 ALL
Location
Rocklin, CA
Driving Conditions
Mostly Dry
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
30000
Ride Comfort
9.0  
Cornering/Steering
8.0  
Ride Noise
9.0  
Tread Life
9.0  
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
10.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

Great traction in dry and wet, good ride, and quite decent tread life as for a high performance tire.

Tire Cons

The initial steering response is somewhat muted, but this should really matter only if you are going to autocross.

This is my second set of these tires (hence I claim 30,000 miles on them). I owned top of the line performance tires from Michelin, Goodyear and Bridgestone, and they were not bad at all, but this is the first tire I actually bought again. Compared to other high performance tires, the sidewalls are a bit soft. This gives more comfortable and quiet ride, but without compromising the high-speed stability. I can confidently drive on country roads taking corners with 20-25 mph higher speeds than those recommended (provided there's enough visibility - always drive responsibly!).

49 of 73 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
8.6  
Review Date
August 21, 2016
Vehicle
2013 CADILLAC ATS SEDAN 2.0 TURBO
Location
Kalamazoo, MI
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
3000
Ride Comfort
8.0  
Cornering/Steering
10.0  
Ride Noise
9.0  
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction
9.0  
Wet Traction
7.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

Cornering Ride noise

Tire Cons

None Provided

I replaced the run-flats on my Cadillac ATS with these, and the difference is awesome! Cornering is much improved, as is ride noise.

9 of 14 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
8.0  
Review Date
June 26, 2013
Vehicle
2010 VW JETTA V SE SPRTWGN
Location
CANOGA PARK, CA
Driving Conditions
Mostly Dry
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
6 months
Miles Driven on Tires
10000
Ride Comfort
8.0  
Cornering/Steering
8.0  
Ride Noise
8.0  
Tread Life
8.0  
Dry Traction
8.0  
Wet Traction
8.0  
Winter Traction
6.0  
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Awesome tire period

Tire Cons

None Provided

Great tire for my front wheel drive VW with 200 hp. You a tire like this for off the line traction and braking. The vehicle is a SEL 2.0T with DSG tranny.

254 of 434 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
9.3  
Review Date
July 18, 2013
Vehicle
2004 VW BEETLE TURBO S
Location
ARLINGTON HEIGHTS, IL
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
6 months
Miles Driven on Tires
7300
Ride Comfort
10.0  
Cornering/Steering
10.0  
Ride Noise
10.0  
Tread Life
7.0  
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
9.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Great tires

Tire Cons

None

Best tires I have ever used

309 of 536 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
7.8  
Review Date
July 30, 2013
Vehicle
2008 LEXUS IS 250 SEDAN
Location
EDGEWATER, NJ
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for
2 years
Miles Driven on Tires
12000
Ride Comfort
8.0  
Cornering/Steering
8.0  
Ride Noise
7.0  
Tread Life
8.0  
Dry Traction
8.0  
Wet Traction
8.0  
Winter Traction
8.0  
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

I bought 4 of this tires and over one year span I have replaced 4 tires due bubbles forming on the side of the tires. The road hazard warranty was worth it because discount tire direct replaced the tires as per warranty. I wonder though if there is some factory defect involve in the production of this tires due to common bubble problems...

272 of 501 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
8.5  
Review Date
July 11, 2012
Vehicle
2011 BMW 328I SEDAN E90
Location
SAN DIEGO, CA
Driving Conditions
Mostly Dry
Driving Style
Mostly City
Owned Tires for
5 months
Miles Driven on Tires
4000
Ride Comfort
9.0  
Cornering/Steering
8.0  
Ride Noise
9.0  
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction
8.0  
Wet Traction N/A
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Not Likely

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

So-so

263 of 530 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
7.2  
Review Date
September 26, 2016
Vehicle
1997 BMW Z3 /E36/7 2.5I SPORT
Location
Clarkston, MI
Driving Conditions
Mostly Dry
Driving Style
Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for
3 years
Miles Driven on Tires
10000
Ride Comfort
1.0  
Cornering/Steering
9.0  
Ride Noise
8.0  
Tread Life
9.0  
Dry Traction
8.0  
Wet Traction
8.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

They seem good in the rain

Tire Cons

They have a vibration issue

The tires have a vibration above 50 MPH. They have a sort of oscillating pattern to the vibration, they vibrate for about 2-3 seconds, stop for 2-3 seconds, and the cycle continues. I've had them rebalanced, but they are just not right.

6 of 13 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
4.0  
Review Date
October 29, 2015
Vehicle
2007 LEXUS IS 350 SEDAN
Location
League City, TX
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
2 months
Miles Driven on Tires
200
Ride Comfort
2.0  
Cornering/Steering
3.0  
Ride Noise
1.0  
Tread Life
8.0  
Dry Traction
5.0  
Wet Traction
5.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

No pros I would not purchase these tires again.

Tire Cons

Tire road noise is terrible and tires are very hard and make a rough ride.

I do not recommend these tires. The road noise is terrible and I have never experienced that with any other tire purchase to date. The ride is also rough.

42 of 98 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Nevermind

Thank you for taking the time to notify us of an inappropriate review.

Our trusted experts will evaluate this review and take the proper actions.