TIRE REVIEWS Tire Reviews by Product

Tire Size: 225/55-16
Tire Image
Continental ExtremeContact DW

225/55-16 (Reading the Tire Size)

Average Customer Rating

For All Vehicles (8)
8.7  
Filter

Filtering Options

(For Best Results, Sort One Option at a Time.)
(Numbers in parentheses represent the total number of reviews available for that sort.)
Sort

Sort Reviews

Reviews of this Tire for All Vehicles

(8 Total Reviews)
Rating
6.0  
Review Date
April 17, 2013
Vehicle
2006 MERCEDES BENZ E320 CDI 211 CHASIS
Location
MIAMI, FL
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
2 years 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
18800
Ride Comfort
7.0  
Cornering/Steering
8.0  
Ride Noise
7.0  
Tread Life
1.0  
Dry Traction
6.0  
Wet Traction
7.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again No

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

I had two tires that tread is done and I made rotations it 7000 miles the other two the tread will be almost done in 3000 miles.Never buy it again.

So disappointed with those tires 20000 miles and have to buy new tires,shame on Continental.

356 of 619 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
9.6  
Review Date
December 28, 2012
Vehicle
1993 JAGUAR XJS ALL
Location
KISSIMMEE, FL
Driving Conditions
Mostly Dry
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
6 months
Miles Driven on Tires
2000
Ride Comfort
10.0  
Cornering/Steering
8.0  
Ride Noise
10.0  
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
10.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

Smooth and quiet ride. Responsive and predictable handling, wet or dry.

Tire Cons

Sidewalls easily scuff and need constant application of tire dressing to look acceptable.

These tires went on one of my weekend cars and I have not driven enough to rate wear. This is the first set of "modern" tires I have had on this 20 year old car. All other tires were OEM. These tires are a big step forward in all categories. Compared to the Michelin Primacy's on my sedan, these are every bit as quiet and smooth running, while offering a more spirited driving experience. I do not expect these tires to provide as many miles as the Primacy's, and the Primacy's are truly the better tire for a daily driver. But for a fair weather, weekend car these are great and a good value. I did get caught in the rain and they did very well. The handling quality is not razor sharp, but neither is it twitchy. You may not want this tire for a track car, but for on road rallies or touring it is an excellent choice.

307 of 560 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
9.0  
Review Date
November 10, 2013
Vehicle
1996 MERCEDES BENZ SL500 129 CHASIS
Location
ARLINGTON, WA
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
6 months
Miles Driven on Tires
2000
Ride Comfort
9.0  
Cornering/Steering
9.0  
Ride Noise
9.0  
Tread Life N/A
Dry Traction
9.0  
Wet Traction
9.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Very low noise, huge improved over Pirelli all season. Much lighter tire, much improved turn in and cornering.

Tire Cons

Not as stable and a little twitchy at high speed. Also wanders a bit, not as true as the heavy all season Pirelli's. Minor cases of both.

Very low noise, better handling and cornering than replacement Pirelli's. Plus they look great on the Mercedes. Will buy again for sure.

325 of 603 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
8.3  
Review Date
February 01, 2015
Vehicle
1991 MERCEDES BENZ 500SL 129 CHASIS
Location
Los Angeles, CA
Driving Conditions
Mostly Dry
Driving Style
Mostly City
Owned Tires for
4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
1000
Ride Comfort
7.0  
Cornering/Steering
8.0  
Ride Noise
8.0  
Tread Life
9.0  
Dry Traction
9.0  
Wet Traction
9.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

None Provided

Tire Cons

None Provided

Hi!

29 of 54 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
9.7  
Review Date
September 30, 2013
Vehicle
2000 BMW 528I /E39 CPE/SDN
Location
SAN DIEGO, CA
Driving Conditions
Mostly Dry
Driving Style
Mostly Highway
Owned Tires for
5 months
Miles Driven on Tires
7500
Ride Comfort
10.0  
Cornering/Steering
10.0  
Ride Noise
10.0  
Tread Life
8.0  
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
10.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Super grip, and amazingly quiet. Saved my life twice.

Tire Cons

My first set lasted about 36,000 miles, but I didn't hesitate to purchase this second set.

THE tires for the BMW 528i.

296 of 563 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
6.8  
Review Date
May 05, 2014
Vehicle
1992 FORD MUSTANG GT
Location
MIDLOTHIAN, TX
Driving Conditions
Mostly Dry
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
6 months
Miles Driven on Tires
5000
Ride Comfort
7.0  
Cornering/Steering
8.0  
Ride Noise
6.0  
Tread Life
6.0  
Dry Traction
8.0  
Wet Traction
6.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Likely

Tire Pros

Seems like a good tire. Good price for what you get. They look good on the car also.

Tire Cons

None Provided

Seems like a good tire. Good price for what you get. They look good on the car also.

165 of 315 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
9.8  
Review Date
August 14, 2015
Vehicle
2000 BMW 528I /E39 CPE/SDN
Location
San Diego, CA
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
2 years 4 months
Miles Driven on Tires
34000
Ride Comfort
10.0  
Cornering/Steering
10.0  
Ride Noise
10.0  
Tread Life
9.0  
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
10.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

1)Outstanding grip in all conditions. 2)Very quiet tire with almost no road noise, especially during freeway driving. The best tire for my 528i.

Tire Cons

None, whatsoever.

As noted in the "pros", incredible grip and control in all conditions. Example - I was driving on the freeway at sunrise when a coyote ran across the road right in front of me. I thought for sure I would hit it, swerved instinctively, and much to my surprise, not only did I not hit the coyote (I'm sure he's glad, too), I didn't even go out of my lane. Also, an extremely quiet-riding tire - I can't emphasize this enough, as I do quite a bit of 250-500 mile roundtrips on southern California freeways. I arrive much less tired than I did when using other tires due to the dramatically-reduced noise level. IMO, the best tire for the BMW 5-series if you don't drive in snowy/icy conditions.

14 of 31 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Rating
10.0  
Review Date
October 22, 2015
Vehicle
2003 FORD MUSTANG BASE/V6
Location
Dallas, TX
Driving Conditions
Mixed Dry Rain
Driving Style
Mixed Highway and City
Owned Tires for
8 months
Miles Driven on Tires
6000
Ride Comfort
10.0  
Cornering/Steering
10.0  
Ride Noise
10.0  
Tread Life
10.0  
Dry Traction
10.0  
Wet Traction
10.0  
Winter Traction N/A
Buy Tire Again Yes

Tire Pros

Excellent wet/dry traction Low price Comfortable Quite

Tire Cons

None

I bought these tires for my 2003 ford mustang V6 with stock wheels. For a V6 mustang with stock wheels there is no better tire for this car. Dry traction is amazing and wet traction is mind blowing good. I was also forced to try them out in slush and ice. Slush traction was still great but traction on ice was horrible, as expected, but not any worse than all season tires. Overall these tires will inspire confidence in a car that usually has horrible wet stopping distance and wet traction.

7 of 29 people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Nevermind

Thank you for taking the time to notify us of an inappropriate review.

Our trusted experts will evaluate this review and take the proper actions.